UNTHSC Tuition and Fees
The information in this web site is provided to better assist students in assessing the cost of enrolling at the University of North Texas Health Science Center (UNTHSC). While this information is intended to be comprehensive, tuition and fees, are subject to increase or decrease by action of the Texas Legislature and/or the Board of Regents of UNT. Students are responsible for any additional amounts due UNTHSC resulting from post audits and corrections, including all fees and waivers; i.e. registration assessing errors, changing from off-campus to on-campus classes, invalid employment waivers, etc.
UNTHSC is a state-supported institution and, as such, is subject to state laws. Since state law prohibits the extension of credit, all financial obligations to the university must be made when due. The university cannot cash checks made payable to it and the student. Checks made payable to the university and the student can be applied to a student’s account balance after obtaining the proper endorsement.
For school and program specific tuition and fee amounts, please click on the links found on the left side of this website.
All fees listed are subject to change.
Board Authorized Tuition (§54.008) Board authorized tuition must be approved by the governing board of the institution. It cannot be higher than the statutory rate.
Designated Tuition (§54.0513) Designated tuition allows the institution to determine the rate per semester credit hour to be charged. Designated tuition is charged in addition to the statutory and board authorized tuition. Designated tuition must be used to support the academic mission of the institution but maintains more flexibility than statutory tuition. The Board of Regents must approve designated tuition rates.
Excess Hours Tuition (§54.012) Doctoral students who take more than 130 semester credit hours to complete their degree will be subject to out-of-state tuition rates.
Statutory Tuition (§54.051) Statutory tuition rates are set by the Legislature. Tuition generated from statutory tuition must be deposited in the State Treasury and expenditures from these funds are subject to state expenditure guidelines.
Cadaver Anatomy Fee (§54.504) A $500 fee is collected for each DO student during the first year of enrollment and a fee of $375 is collected during the DO second year of enrollment. PA and DPT students are charged this same $500 fee during the first year of enrollment only. This fee is also charged to GSBS Medical Sciences and Structural Anatomy students. A fee of $100 is collected for each PA student during the second year of enrollment. This fee covers the costs associated with student activities that involve dissections and prosections.
ID Card Fee (§54.504) A $25 ID card fee is collected from each student during his or her first term of enrollment. This fee covers the cost associated with issuing student identification cards. A replacement fee of $25 is charged for misplaced or damaged cards.
Installment Fee (§54.007) A fee of $15 will be charged to all students electing to pay tuition and fees by installment.
Instructional Fee – Academic Support Services (§54.504) A fee of $7.50 per semester credit hour will be assessed to students for courses utilizing Academic Support Services.
Instructional Fee – Assessment Services – Pharmacy Students (§54.504) This fee will be charged to all pharmacy students in the fall semesters to support the assessment services provided for specific courses in which this service is utilized. Learn more about specific amounts
Instructional Fee – Assessment – Physician Assistant Studies Students (§54.504) This fee will be charged to all physican assistant students in the fall semesters to support the purchase of E-Value which covers academic tracking, scheduling and e-portfilio. This fee also covers the cost of iClickers for first year PA students. Learn more about specific amounts on iClickers..
Instructional Fee – Board Review Materials – Medical Students (§54.504) An instructional fee of $766 will be charged to all second year medical students and $199 will be charged to all third year medical students in the fall semester to support their preparation for the Board Examination.
Instructional Fee – Clinical Education – Medical Students (§54.504) This instructional fee of $499 will be charged in the fall semester to all third year medical students to cover expenses related to the required drug screening, clinical education software, and BLS and ACLS Certification.
Instructional Fee – Clinical Exams- Medical Students (§54.504)This instructional fee of $315 will be charged in the fall semester to all third year medical students to cover expenses related to purchasing and administering Clerkship Subject Examinations.
Instructional Fee – Distance Learning (§54.504) All courses offered in an online or distance learning format will be charged a fee of $65 per semester credit hour to support the needs related to the delivery of online courses.
Instructional Fee – Evaluation Services (§54.504) All courses that utilize evaluation services will be charged a flat fee of $4 to support evaluation services.
Instructional Fee – Library Services (§54.504) All courses will be charged a fee of $7.50 per semester credit hour to support library fee services.
Instructional Fee – Osteopathic Manipulative Medical Education (OMM)- Medical Students (§54.504) An instructional fee of $105 will be charged in the fall semester to all first and second year medical students to support the costs of the OMM course/lab supplies.
Instructional Fee – Preclinical Education – Medical Students (§54.504) An instructional fee of $38 will be charged in the fall semester to all first year medical students to cover expenses related to purchasing and administering BLS Certification.
Instructional Fee – Professional Development Services – Pharmacy (§54.504) This fee will be charged in the fall semester to all pharmacy students. This instructional fee will support the professional development services provided for specific courses in which this service is utilized.
Instructional Fee – Rural Osteopathic Medical Education (ROME) – Medical Students (§54.504) This fee will be charged in the fall semester to second year ROME medical students and in the spring semester to all first year ROME medical students to cover expenses related to TCOM’s ROME program.
Instructional Fee – Pharmacy Student Experience Support – Pharmacy (§54.504) This fee will be charged in the fall semester to first ($524.50), second ($529.50) and third ($324.00) year pharmacy students to support costs related to student experience programming.
Instructional Fee – Simulation Education – Medical Students (§54.504) This fee will be charged in the fall semester to first ($433), second ($361) and third ($337) year medical students to support costs related to TCOM’s simulated patient program.
Instructional Fee – Technology Services (§54.504) All courses will be charged a technology fee of $2.50 per semester credit hour to support the services provided by Academic Information Resources and Technology.
Instructional Fee – Testing Services (§54.504) All courses that utilize testing services will be charged $8.50 per semester credit hour to support testing services.
Insurance Processing Fee (§54.504) A fee of $18.00 will be charged once per academic year to all students that apply for a plan offered as part of the UNT System sponsored student health insurance plan. This fee covers the costs associated with the verification and processing of student health insurance plans.
International Student Service Fee (§54.504) A fee of $20 is collected each term from students that are not citizens or permanent residents of the United States. This fee covers costs associated with providing services unique to this student population to include orientation programs, personal counseling regarding immigration rules and visa status, and other related issues.
Lab Coat Fee (§54.504) A $30 fee is collected for each student in any GSBS program during the students’ first term of enrollment to cover the costs associated with issuing lab coats.
Lab Fees (§54.501) A fee of $25 per year is collected from all first and second year medical students. First year physician assistant and physical therapy students are charged $12.50 in the fall and spring term. A fee of $12.50 is collected from all first and second year pharmacy students in the fall and spring term.
Late Registration Fee (§54.504) A fee of $25 is collected from all students registering during the designated late registration period.
Matriculation Fee (§54.504) A $50 fee is collected during the first term of enrollment for each new student.
Medical Services Fee (§54.5081) The fixed medical services fee of $67 per term or $200 per academic year is used solely to provide medical services to students registered at the health science center.
Parking Fees (§54.505) Student parking permits are $130 per academic year for the Surface Lot and $180 for the garage. If the permit is lost, stolen, or destroyed, replacement permits will be issued at a charge of $5.
Professional and General Liability Insurance Fee (§54.504) All students are required to carry professional and general liability insurance. The fee is charged each fall semester to cover the academic year in the amount of $22.55 for medical, $13.71 for physician assistants, $13.71 for physical therapy, and $22.55 pharmacy students.
Registration Reinstatement Fee (§54.504) Students who fail to make payment of tuition and fees by the payment deadline will be administratively withdrawn. Registration may be reinstated upon appeal with a reinstatement fee of $250.
Student Center Fee (§54.515) A fee of $10 per term or $30 per academic year is collected from all students for the maintenance and operation of the student lounges.
Student Health Insurance Fee (§54.504) Please review the Student Affairs Student Health Insurance website for program-specific student health insurance rates. It is compulsory for all students to carry medical and hospitalization insurance while enrolled at the Health Science Center. All students will be automatically enrolled and billed for the UNT System Student Health Insurance Policy. Students can waive this coverage by providing proof of coverage in the form of insurance documents showing minimum coverage amounts by the census date of each term of enrollment. Insurance coverage must remain in effect throughout the duration of enrollment. For waiver information, students should visit the Student Affairs website.
Student Services Fee (§54.503) Student service fees are assessed to cover the costs of student services that directly involve or benefit students, including but not limited to, recreational activities, lecture series and student government. This fee is $20 per semester credit hour with a minimum of $120 and a maximum of $250 in the fall, spring, and summer terms. Medical students are charged the annual maximum of $750.
Sustainable Campus Fee (§54.504) Sustainable Campus fees will be charged to each student based on semester credit hours (SCH) and during the fall semester only. The fee will charge $15 for students enrolled in 1-3 SCH, $25 for students enrolled in 4-6 SCH, and $35 for students enrolled in 7 or more SCH. The fees will support the operations and programs of the sustainability office.
Technology Fee (§54.504)
A $2000 fee is collected for each DO, PA, DPT, PharmD, GSBS Medical Science,GSBS Biotechnology, GSBS Clinic Research Management, SPH MPH (excluding MPH Online options), SPH MS, and SPH PhD student during their first term of enrollment. GSBS Forensic Genetics-MS students are charged $1500 during their first term of enrollment. This fee covers the costs associated with issuing laptops to each student.
Transcript Fee (§54.504) A $50 fee is collected from each student during his or her first term of enrollment. This one-time fee allows each student to order an unlimited amount of UNTHSC Official Transcripts.
Tuition and Fee payments (§54.504) Credit card payments (MasterCard, Visa, American Express and Discover) and check payments may be made through self-service at myHSC. Effective Fall 2016: credit and debit card payments will be assessed an additional 2.7% service fee, paid thru Nelnet on the Student Portal. Electronic checks are accepted with no additional fee.
White Coat Ceremony Fee (§54.504) A $100 fee is collected from each DO, PA, DPT, and PharmD student during their first term of enrollment. This fee covers the costs associated with the White Coat Ceremony and the issuing of a white coat to each student.
This page was last modified on November 14, 2018