The information in this web site is provided to better assist students in assessing the cost of enrolling at the University of North Texas Health Science Center (HSC). While this information is intended to be comprehensive, tuition and fees, are subject to increase or decrease by action of the Texas Legislature and/or the Board of Regents of University of North Texas. Students are responsible for any additional amounts due HSC resulting from post audits and corrections, including all fees and waivers; i.e. registration assessing errors, changing from off-campus to on-campus classes, invalid employment waivers, etc.

HSC is a state-supported institution and, as such, is subject to state laws. Since state law prohibits the extension of credit, all financial obligations to the university must be made when due. The university cannot cash checks made payable to it and the student. Checks made payable to the university and the student can be applied to a student’s account balance after obtaining the proper endorsement.

For school and program specific tuition and fee amounts, please click on the links found on the left side of this website.

2020-2021 Tuition Rates

All fees listed are subject to change

Tuition

Board Authorized Tuition (§54.008) Board authorized tuition must be approved by the governing board of the institution. It cannot be higher than the statutory rate. Designated Tuition (§54.0513) Designated tuition allows the institution to determine the rate per semester credit hour to be charged. Designated tuition is charged in addition to the statutory and board authorized tuition. Designated tuition must be used to support the academic mission of the institution but maintains more flexibility than statutory tuition. The Board of Regents must approve designated tuition rates. Excess Hours Tuition (§54.012) Doctoral students who take more than 130 semester credit hours to complete their degree will be subject to out-of-state tuition rates. Statutory Tuition (§54.051) Statutory tuition rates are set by the Legislature. Tuition generated from statutory tuition must be deposited in the State Treasury and expenditures from these funds are subject to state expenditure guidelines.

Fees

wdt_ID sortcolumn Fees Cost Description
1 1.00 Cadaver Anatomy Fee ( §54.504) 500 A $500 fee is collected for TCOM 1st year and a fee of $375 is collected TCOM 2nd year students. PA and DPT students are charged a $500 fee during the 1sst year of enrollment only. GSBS Medical Sciences and Structural Anatomy students are also charged a fee of $500. A fee of $100 is collected for PA 2nd year students. This fee covers the costs associated with student activities that involve dissections and prosections.
2 2.00 Career Readiness Fee ( §54.504) 25 A fee of $10 will be charged to DPT 1st and 2nd year students in the fall, spring and summer terms. The fee will support the costs associated with provideing career readiness opportunities
3 3.00 ID Card Fee ( §54.504) 25 A fee of $25 is collected from each student during their first term of enrollment in an academic program. This fee covers the cost associated with issuing student identification cards. Replacement cost for lost or stolen ID cards are paid directly to the Police Department by the student.
4 4.00 Installment Fee ( §54.007) 374 A fee of $25 will be charged to all students electing to pay tuition and fees by installment. This fee is charged each time a student elects this payment option.
5 5.00 Instructional Fee - Academic Resources Fee ( §54.504) An instructional fee of $3/SCH (per credit hour) will be charged to all students to support the CIL resources that support all academic programs including Canvas and Mediasite.
6 6.00 Instructional Fee - Academic Supplemental & Evaluation Fee ( §54.504) An instructional fee of $378 will be charged to students in the fall and spring terms to support the services provided by the Center of Academic Performance. The fee will be $189 each term. This includes TCOM; SHP Master’s Program 1st & 2nd year; SHP Doctorate Program 1st & 2nd year; SPH Master’s Programs; GSBS Master’s Programs; UNT System College of Pharmacy (SCP).
7 7.00 Instructional Fee - Assessment - Pharmacy ( §54.504) An instructional fee will be charged 1st year ($102), 2nd year ($3), 3rd year ($3) and 4th year ($535) SCP students to support the assessment services provided for specific courses in which this service is utilized.
8 8.00 Instructional Fee - Assessment - Physician Assistant Studies Students ( §54.504) An instructional fee will be charged to all PA students in the fall semesters to support the purchase of E-Value which covers academic tracking, scheduling, e-portfolio, and of iClickers . A fee will be charged to 1st year ($165), 2nd year ($140), 3rd year ($205) and 4th year ($165) students.
9 9.00 Instructional Fee - Board Review Materials - Medical Students( §54.504) An instructional fee of $782 will be charged to all TCOM 2nd year medical students and $219 will be charged to all TCOM 3rd year medical students in the fall semester to support their preparation for the Board Examination.
10 10.00 Instructional Fee - Clinical Experience - Clinical Students ( §54.504) An instructional fee will be charge and divided over the fall and spring terms to students enrolled in clinical experiences that support the services provided by the Clinical Affairs Office. An annual fee of $156 for TCOM 1st, 2nd, & 3rd year students, $119 for PA and DPT students, and $96 for SCP students.
sortcolumn Fees Cost Description

Contact Us

Phone: (817) 735-2026
Fax : (817) 735-0677
Main email: StudentFin@unthsc.edu

This page was last modified on July 9, 2020