Luibel College

luibel purple flag


Luibel College is named after George J. Luibel, D.O.  Along with Drs. Beyer and Everett Dr. Luibel was one of the founders of the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine.  In the early years of the college (1966-1975), Dr. Luibel served as Chairman of the TCOM Board of Directors. The medical school went from a written proposal to the admission of its first class in four short years.   During his tenure on the board, the institution was transformed from a private osteopathic medical school into a state-affiliated medical school with North Texas State University (now the University of North Texas).   In addition to his service to this institution, Dr. Luibel also served as president of the American Osteopathic Association and president of the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association.  Locally, Dr. Luibel served as chairman of the board for the Tarrant County Hospital District, the first osteopathic physician to do so.

His vision along that of his colleagues Drs. Beyer and Everett ultimately led to the development of one nation’s top osteopathic medical schools and one the nation’s top medical schools for primary care medicine.

Dr. Luibel passed away in 2003 at his home in Fort Worth.

Luibel College Faculty Director:

Janet Lieto, DO

Luibel College Faculty Advisors:

April Wiechmann, PhD

Lesca Hadley, MD

Scott Winter, MD

This page was last modified on June 5, 2017