Elko College

elko green flag

Elko College is named after Edward E. Elko, Ph.D. Dr. Elko’s career at the Health Science Center spanned more than 20 years in both faculty and administrative roles.  From 1975-1978, Dr. Elko was a guest lecturer at TCOM from the University of Tennessee medical school in Memphis.  In 1978, Dr. Elko was hired full-time at TCOM and joined the faculty in pharmacology.  While on faculty he was awarded M. L. Coleman Pre-Clinical Professor of the Year Award for 1988-89.

In addition to his work as a member of faculty, he served as Associate Dean for Basic Sciences from 1981-1986 and Associate Dean for Student Affairs from 1989-1996.

Upon his retirement from the institution in 1996, he was awarded the rank of Professor Emeritus.  In 1997, Dr. Elko was given the Mary E. Luibel Distinguished Service Award.

In his retirement, he has served as an accreditation site visitor for colleges of osteopathic medicine nationwide.  To date, he has done site inspections at 26 osteopathic medical schools.  Additionally, he has served as a member of the Board for the Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists.

Dr. Elko continues to volunteer his time at the Health Pavilion here on campus.

Elko College Faculty Director


Katrina Roop, Do

Katrina Roop, DO

Assistant Professor
Family Medicine and Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine
Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine


Nova Southeastern University College of Osteopathic Medicine (Dr. Kiran C. Patel College of Osteopathic Medicine) – 05/2007 – Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine
Florida Hospital East Orlando (Adventist Health) – 06/2010 – Family Medicine/OMT
Medical City Fort Worth (HCA) – Started 07/2019 – ongoing – Osteopathic Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine

After 9 years of practicing Family Medicine, I decided to return to training for Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine. It has been a unique experience working as both Faculty in the medical school and Resident in the ONMM program. I joined TCOM in February of 2018, and prior to that I have worked in Urgent Care, been an Assistant Professor in a Family Medicine Residency, and also worked in a large multispecialty group. Currently, I oversee the Medical Practice Course, which includes OMM, Physical Exam, and all the skills required to evaluate a patient from history gathering to treatment.  You will also likely work with me when you rotate through our clinics in Family Medicine and OMM during your 3rd and 4th year.  My husband is also a physician, he has an OMM practice in Southlake, and we have a golden retriever. I have lots of hobbies, including archery, quilting, and baking (I like to call myself an amateur sourdough baker). I love working with students and seeing you all grow into physicians.

Elko College Faculty Advisors


Sandra Davis, Md

Sandra Davis, MD

Assistant Professor
Internal Medicine and Geriatrics
Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine


University of Texas, Austin, Texas BA 05/1992 Biochemistry
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center,
Lubbock, Texas MD 05/1996 Doctorate in Medicine
Scott and White Hospital, Temple, Texas Residency 06/2000 Psychiatry

I am an experienced adult psychiatrist with 19 years of clinical expertise in various clinical environments including outpatient, residential, intensive outpatient and inpatient settings.    I am interested in clinical research trials.   Most recently, my active clinical practice in the Center of Geriatrics at University of Texas Health Sciences Center has been focusing on older adults with cognitive disorders, depression, anxiety, substance use disorders, and psychosis.   I am enjoying teaching and advising students at TCOM.


Jay Roop Do PhotoJay Roop, DO

Assistant Professor
Family Medicine and Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine
Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine


Oklahoma State University- BS 2004/2005 Zoology/Microbiology
Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic Medicine – DO 2009
Florida Hospital East Orlando – Family Medicine and Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine 2013

Prior to joining TCOM I was in private practice in Southlake, TX for over 8 1/2 years. My practice in the last 4-5 years focused on newborn and pediatric OMM. In addition to seeing patients in the OMM clinic at the UNTHSC Health Pavilion, I teach in year 1 and 2 OMM labs. When I am not seeing patients or teaching, I love hanging out with my wife and our golden retriever (Asta) I am very passionate about music both listening and playing.


Dr. Fernando Elko Advisor

Shane Fernando, Ph.D., M.S., C.P.P.S., F.R.S.P.H.

Assistant Professor
Department of Pediatrics
Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine


Dr. Shane Fernando is a clinical pediatric epidemiologist in the Department of Pediatrics and Women’s Health. He joined the UNT Health Science Center in 2014 as an Assistant Professor and has worked extensively with investigators within the University of North Texas Health Science Center, as well as initiating collaborations between external organizations and the department of Pediatrics. In addition to his epidemiologic training, Dr. Fernando has extensive expertise in survey design and validation methods, epidemiologic study designs, and mixed-model analysis. He currently teaches medical students during their first, second and third years. As one of the five primary clinical scientists in the Department of Pediatrics, he has managed numerous studies, and has served as a dedicated mentor for all his students. Dr. Fernando has significant experience working with diverse populations having lived across 3 continents in his lifetime, and with his work with vulnerable populations in research, in which he received a fellowship from the Texas Center for Health Disparities.