The first phase of the task force will be to:

  • Gather data and assessments surrounding the current state of mental and behavioral health of HSC students
  • Provide potential solutions and ideas
  • Draft feedback to share out with the sponsors, Dr. Charles Taylor and Jessica Rangel.
  • Share feedback at a Cabinet meeting in conjunction with the Division of Student Affairs and HSC Health’s presentation related to student mental health.

Student Mental & Behavioral Health Task Force Team


Dr. April Wiechmann & Dr. La’Cresha Moore


Dr. Tricia Smith, Physician, Student Health & Priority Clinic

Joanne Mize, Executive Director Clinical Strategy HSC Health

Andrew Arvay, Director, Office of Care & Civility

Dr. Emily Mire, Executive Director, Student Services

Jeremy Joseph, Student Assistance Resource Center