Dr. Abe Clark honored with international research award

Abe ClarkAbbot “Abe” Clark, PhD, FARVO, FAAO, regents professor of pharmacology and neuroscience in the School of Biomedical Sciences at The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth, has received the International Society for Eye Research 2024 Ernst H. Bárány Prize 

The award was given in recognition of Clark’s outstanding contributions to research that has increased the understanding of ocular pharmacology. 

“I am very honored to receive the International Society for Eye Research Ernst H. Bárány Prize for excellence in ocular pharmacology. It is humbling to be recognized by my national and international peers,” Clark said.  

“I view this honor as a team award that recognizes all the work done in my laboratory by previous and current graduate students and postdoctoral fellows as well as my collaborators. I have been very blessed to work with outstanding young scientists, the majority of whom have gone on to successful careers of their own.” 

Clark has devoted most of his life investigating the molecular mechanisms responsible for ocular diseases with a focus on glaucoma, which is the leading cause of irreversible visual impairment and blindness and affects more than 80 million people worldwide.  

His collaboration with graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and national and international researchers has uncovered novel molecular pathways that cause glaucomatous damage to the eye and vision centers in the brain. These discoveries are based on his lab’s use of molecular genetics, molecular biology, cell biology and unique in vitro, ex vivo, and in vivo models to identify novel disease modifying therapeutic targets to better treat glaucoma. 

Clark has more than 250 scientific publications, and he has presented his lab’s research at 145 national and international scientific meetings. He has mentored 25 PhD students and seven postdoctoral fellows. 

The award will be presented in October at the XXVI Biennial Meeting of the International Society for Eye Research in Buenos Aires, Argentina. Clark will present the plenary lecture at the meeting. 

Recent News

  • Our People
|Apr 18, 2024

TCOM’s Dr. Lisa Nash honored with the 2024 Special Lifetime Achievement Award by AOGME

It has been a lifetime of service to osteopathic medicine and graduate medical education for Lisa Nash, DO, MS-HPEd, FAAFP, and that remarkable career was honored by the Assembly of Osteopathic Graduate Medical Educators as she received their 2024 Special Lifetime Achievement Award as part of the Am...
Cervantes 20240117 143815
  • Our People
|Apr 17, 2024

Protecting quality of life for senior living residents through HSC’s ICARE initiative

Through HSC’s ICARE – Infection Control Advocate and Resident Education - program, Dr. Diana Cervantes and School of Public Health students are helping to protect the quality of life for residents in nursing home communities. Dr. Cervantes is an associate professor, population and community hea...
Uyen Sa Nguyen Scaled[58]
  • Our People
|Apr 12, 2024

Faculty Highlight: Dr. Uyen-Sa D. T. Nguyen

Dr. Nguyen is an associate professor, population and community health, at The University of North Texas Health Science Center’s School of Public Health. She recently received a new pilot grant and donation from an HSC Foundation donor to support her research. Here, she talks about this new funding...
Pain Registry Licciardone
  • Research
|Apr 11, 2024

JAMA Network publishes HSC study showing chronic pain favorable outcomes associated with physician empathy

JAMA Network Open this month published an article, “Physician Empathy and Chronic Pain Outcomes,” based on national data collected by the Pain Registry for Epidemiological, Clinical, and Interventional Studies and Innovation (PRECISION) at The University of North Texas Health Science Center at F...