Dr. Steven Romero receives American Physiological Society award for excellence in research

Processed With Lensa With Pt12 FilterDr. Steven Romero, associate professor of Physiology and Anatomy at the School of Biomedical Sciences at The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth, was named the 2024 Henry Pickering Bowditch Award Lecturer by the American Physiological Society. The lectureship is awarded to an early-career researcher recognized for original and outstanding accomplishments in physiology. 

“I am very humbled to have received the Bowditch Award and to have my name among the list of past recipients, one of which is my Department Chair Dr. Johnathan Tune,” Romero said. 

“This award is a team effort. It reflects the incredibly hard work done by my lab and their dedication to our research program.” 

Romero is the director of the Human Vascular Physiology laboratory, where his work investigates how the vascular system adjusts and adapts to exercise and environmental stress in health and disease. Romero is a past recipient of the APS Porter Physiology Development Fellowship, a reviewer for the APS family of journals and an editorial board member for the American Journal of Physiology-Regulatory, Integrative and Comparative Physiology. His research is funded by grants from the National Institutes of Health and the American Heart Association. 

He will give the Henry Pickering Bowditch Award Lecture titled “Cardiovascular Adjustments after Acute Heat Exposure: Mechanisms and Clinical Implications” at the 2024 American Physiology Summit next month in Long Beach, California.  

Recent News

Community Health Worker Week
  • Our People
|Apr 19, 2024

Recognizing the important role of community health workers

In recognition of the important role of community health workers, their leadership and their impact on communities, Community Health Worker Week 2024 is being celebrated nationally April 22-28. The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth School of Public Health’s State Hea...
  • Our People
|Apr 18, 2024

TCOM’s Dr. Lisa Nash honored with the 2024 Special Lifetime Achievement Award by AOGME

It has been a lifetime of service to osteopathic medicine and graduate medical education for Lisa Nash, DO, MS-HPEd, FAAFP, and that remarkable career was honored by the Assembly of Osteopathic Graduate Medical Educators as she received their 2024 Special Lifetime Achievement Award as part of the Am...
Cervantes 20240117 143815
  • Our People
|Apr 17, 2024

Protecting quality of life for senior living residents through HSC’s ICARE initiative

Through HSC’s ICARE – Infection Control Advocate and Resident Education - program, Dr. Diana Cervantes and School of Public Health students are helping to protect the quality of life for residents in nursing home communities. Dr. Cervantes is an associate professor, population and community hea...
Uyen Sa Nguyen Scaled[58]
  • Our People
|Apr 12, 2024

Faculty Highlight: Dr. Uyen-Sa D. T. Nguyen

Dr. Nguyen is an associate professor, population and community health, at The University of North Texas Health Science Center’s School of Public Health. She recently received a new pilot grant and donation from an HSC Foundation donor to support her research. Here, she talks about this new funding...