HSC College of Pharmacy offers $15,000 academic achievement awards

College of Pharmacy graduates
College of Pharmacy graduates

On the heels of announcing a more flexible Doctor of Pharmacy program called FlexPharmD, The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth College of Pharmacy now is offering an academic achievement award available to pharmacy school candidates applying for fall 2024.

Candidates with a GPA of 3.0 or higher may be eligible for a $15,000 Academic Achievement Award and are encouraged to apply early to take advantage of the opportunity. Additionally, upon acceptance to the program, the $500 deposit to hold a seat will be waived. The College of Pharmacy is now accepting applications for fall 2024.

“More and more, we are recognizing the increasing demands on our students’ time and pocketbooks,” said Dr. Annesha White, interim dean of the college. “Our goal is to recruit the best and brightest students by helping remove some of those barriers to applying to a professional program, like our Doctor of Pharmacy. In addition, our new FlexPharmD program offers greater flexibility, accessibility and affordability.”

Students accepted into the program beginning in the fall semester will be the first in Texas to have a more flexible pharmacy school schedule, with a combination of online and in-person courses during the first three years of the program.

With the FlexPharmD program, the curriculum remains the same, but some courses will be offered exclusively online for students to complete on their own time. The remaining classes, lab activities and exams will be offered on campus in Fort Worth. With limited days on campus, students can expect to reduce travel time, save on transportation and living costs, and experience greater work-life balance.

“With the FlexPharmD program, we are excited to offer a more flexible option in Texas, allowing students to better customize their learning journey while continuing unparalleled hands-on experiences,” White said.

Students interested in the program and academic awards may learn more here.

In July, the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education granted HSC College of Pharmacy the maximum accreditation term of eight years, extending accreditation through June 2031. The college has graduated seven cohorts with more than 600 alumni since its founding. In October, the college will celebrate the 10th anniversary of its first cohort.

Recent News

7281bfad 8597 4cef 80de B58ea8a26ab5
  • Community
|Jun 10, 2024

North Texas Asthma Summit to improve asthma outcomes for children

Representatives from 10 North Texas organizations will come together Wednesday with one common goal in mind: improving health outcomes for children with poorly controlled asthma. The goal of the North Texas Asthma Summit is to develop community partnerships to help these children who frequently e...
Dobbs Headshot
  • Our People
|Jun 7, 2024

School of Health Professions welcomes three new staff members

The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth’s School of Health Professions is excited to announce three new staff members in the dean’s office. Christa Lo, DHSc, MPAS, PA-C, joins SHP as associate dean. In her role, she will assist in overseeing the school’s academic...
  • Our People
|Jun 6, 2024

TCOM Alumnus Dr. Frederick White receives the Gold Medal Award for Distinguished Service from the AOCR

In recognition of his outstanding leadership, dedication and service, Frederick E. White, DO, FAOCR, a 1977 graduate from the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine at The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth, was selected as the recipient of the American Osteopathic College ...
Hampton 5
  • On Campus
|Jun 5, 2024

Hampton University representatives visit HSC to build partnerships

A delegation of five representatives from Hampton University visited The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth’s campus on Friday. Hampton University is a private, historically Black university founded in 1868 in Hampton, Virginia. The group included President of Ham...