SPH Faculty Honored at President’s Awards

April 24, 2013 • Uncategorized

Award 2013

Three School of Public Health faculty members were honored for their research excellence at the recent UNT Health Science Center (UNTHSC) President’s Faculty Awards ceremony.

Jose Pagan, PhD, professor and chair of Health Management and Policy, received the Gold Award for Research Excellence; Kathryn Cardarelli, PhD, MPH, associate professor of Epidemiology, was presented the Silver Award for Research Excellence; and Health Management and Policy assistant professor Thad Miller, MPH, DrPH, was honored with the Young Investigator Award for Research Excellence.

The President’s Award for Research Excellence is based on competitive extramural funding, evaluation results and having had at least two peer-reviewed publications in print or in press.

UNTHSC President Michael Williams presented 28 total awards to faculty members across campus in the areas of education, research and clinical care efforts, all in recognition of exemplary contributions and dedication to furthering the mission of UNTHSC. Honorees were selected from among the university’s more than 400 faculty by a committee of faculty, staff and administrators based on specific data related to each award category.