UNTHSC students, faculty earn top honors at state physician assistant conference

Ashley Waldrop, Jessica Van Noy
and Hannah Bereuter

Physician Assistant students from the UNT Health Science Center in Fort Worth swept the Challenge Bowl at a statewide conference in San Antonio.

The team of second-year students Ashley Waldrop, Jessica Van Noy and Hannah Bereuter took first place in the medical-quiz competition at the Texas Academy of Physician Assistants conference. Monica Summerhill, Steven Souders and Katrina Sullivan finished in second place.

The team of Tiffany Rose, Dena Gebril and Katie Ziliak placed third.

Students from Baylor University, UT Southwestern Medical Center, UT Medical Branch and Louisiana State University competed in the Challenge  Bowl, said Laura Mattingly, MHS, PA-C, Assistant Professor in the Physician Assistant Studies program.

Also, Chris Cooper, MPAS, PA-C, Vice Chairman of the UNTHSC Physician Assistant Program, was named TAPA Outstanding Educator of the Year.

Physician Assistant Instructor Thomas Diver, MPAS, PA-C, was reelected TAPA Director at Large.

“It was nice to see UNTHSC represented so well with three teams placing in the Challenge Bowl, a faculty member receiving the highest honor of an educator and a faculty member being reelected to the TAPA Board,” Mattingly said. “We showed our enthusiasm for the PA profession!”

Recent News

7281bfad 8597 4cef 80de B58ea8a26ab5
  • Community
|Jun 10, 2024

North Texas Asthma Summit to improve asthma outcomes for children

Representatives from 10 North Texas organizations will come together Wednesday with one common goal in mind: improving health outcomes for children with poorly controlled asthma. The goal of the North Texas Asthma Summit is to develop community partnerships to help these children who frequently e...
Dobbs Headshot
  • Our People
|Jun 7, 2024

School of Health Professions welcomes three new staff members

The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth’s School of Health Professions is excited to announce three new staff members in the dean’s office. Christa Lo, DHSc, MPAS, PA-C, joins SHP as associate dean. In her role, she will assist in overseeing the school’s academic...
  • Our People
|Jun 6, 2024

TCOM Alumnus Dr. Frederick White receives the Gold Medal Award for Distinguished Service from the AOCR

In recognition of his outstanding leadership, dedication and service, Frederick E. White, DO, FAOCR, a 1977 graduate from the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine at The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth, was selected as the recipient of the American Osteopathic College ...
Hampton 5
  • On Campus
|Jun 5, 2024

Hampton University representatives visit HSC to build partnerships

A delegation of five representatives from Hampton University visited The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth’s campus on Friday. Hampton University is a private, historically Black university founded in 1868 in Hampton, Virginia. The group included President of Ham...