TCOM names new chair of internal medicine

July 28, 2008

Darrin C. D’Agostino, D.O., M.P.H., has been named the chairman, Department of Internal Medicine for the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine at the University of North Texas Health Science Center. He will join the UNT Health practice Sept. 15 and will see patients in general internal medicine at the Patient Care Center on the UNTHSC campus.

Dr. D’Agostino received his Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine from New York College of Osteopathic Medicine, his Master of Public Health from the University of Connecticut, and his Bachelor of Science in Psychology from Union College. he was chief medical resident at the University of Connecticut, School of Medicine.

He is certified by the American Osteopathic Board of Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine.

He comes to UNT Health Science Center from the University of Connecticut School of Medicine, where he served as director of medical education, osteopathic; associate professor of clinical medicine, University of Connecticut; assistant director of medicine, Hartford Hospital; and program director of the osteopathic internal medicine residency; among other positions. He was also medical director of the Amigos en Salud program, designed to provide community-based services to Hispanic patients with metabolic syndrome and diabetes.

Some of his professional affiliations include serving on the American Osteopathic Association House of Delegates, the Committee on Osteopathic Post-Graduate Training Institutes, the American Academy of Osteopathy, the American Medical Association, and the American College of Physicians – American Society of Internal Medicine. He is currently a diplomat for the American Board of Internal Medicine and serves as co-chair of the steering committee to develop conference material for the Osteopathic Medical Education Conference XIX. He has received the Excellence in Teaching Award and the Medical Student Excellence in Education award, both from the University of Connecticut, as well as the Ambulatory Medicine Excellence in Practice award from Hartford (Conn.) Hospital.

Hsc Tcom Gold Humanism Society Inductees Fc
TCOM Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society welcomes new inductees 

By Steven Bartolotta The humanistic side of medicine is alive and well at Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine. The TCOM Chapter of the Arnold P Gold Foundation inducted 45 students and four faculty members into the Gold Humanism Honor Society on the campus of The University of North Texas H...Read more

Jun 15, 2021

John Licciardone Hsc Fort Worth Fc
eHealth interventions could help African-American patients in battle with chronic pain

By Steven Bartolotta The PRECISION Pain Research Registry at the University of North Texas Health Science Center in Fort Worth has identified important racial disparities in pain management that became more evident during the COVID-19 pandemic. Its study recently published in the special COVID...Read more

Jun 14, 2021

Diana Cervantes. Assistant Professor Biostatistics & Epidemiology
Dr. Diana Cervantes named among Fort Worth’s ‘most influential’ for public health service during the pandemic

By Sally Crocker Dr. Diana Cervantes has spent the last year keeping people informed and updated on all things coronavirus, and now she’s being recognized as one of Fort Worth Inc.’s “400 Most Influential People” for helping protect the community’s health during the pandemic. Dr....Read more

Jun 8, 2021

Opal Lee photo by Rodger Mallison/Fort Worth Star-Telegram
Celebrating Juneteenth

By Diane Smith-Pinckney On June 19 1865, Major General Gordan Granger marched into Galveston with a critical message: “The people of Texas are informed that, in accordance with a Proclamation from the Executive of the United States, all slaves are free.”  This was the opening se...Read more

Jun 8, 2021