TCOM Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society welcomes new inductees 

June 15, 2021

By Steven Bartolotta

Hsc Tcom Gold Humanism Society Inductees

The humanistic side of medicine is alive and well at Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine. The TCOM Chapter of the Arnold P Gold Foundation inducted 45 students and four faculty members into the Gold Humanism Honor Society on the campus of The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth. The students, all members of the Class of 2022, were chosen for their outstanding humanistic behaviors shown during medical school.

“Humanism in medicine comes down to recognizing the humanity of ourselves, our peers, and our patients and forming respectful and compassionate relationships with them,” said TCOM fourth-year student Alyssa Wilder.

“Being inducted into GHHS is a privilege as it serves as a recognition of the work many of us have done to serve our communities. My goal when I decided to become a physician was to ensure minority patients feel seen, heard, and respected when they come to the doctor and to advocate for those who often go unheard.”

Along with the students, TCOM faculty members Dr. James Aston, Dr. Kendi Hensel, Dr. Katrina Roop and Dr. Russell Wagner were inducted into the Honor Society.

The Gold Foundation champions humanism in health care, which they define as compassionate, collaborative, and scientifically excellent care. The non-profit organization at TCOM was founded for recognizing students, residents and faculty who are exemplars of compassionate patient care and who serve as role models, mentors and leaders in medicine.

Dr. Arnold P. Gold, a pediatric neurologist, began the foundation in 1988. His belief in the importance of an empathic bedside manner led him and his wife, Sandra, to create the foundation to inspire young physicians to practice compassionate patient care.

TCOM Students Inductees

  • Sharanya Ajaykumar
  • Hadia Aziz
  • Mi Sun Bae
  • Shivani Bhatnagar
  • Madeline Carson
  • Michael Chandra
  • Thomas Checketts
  • Patricia Colucci
  • Heather Deville
  • Mackenzie Ewart
  • Robert Faries
  • Ellen Gaudet
  • Rupali Gautam
  • Kelley Grant
  • Katherine Hayman
  • Carl Heinrich
  • Brandon Hoff
  • Hayley Holbrook
  • Daniel Hubbard
  • Jordyn Johnson
  • Esther Jung
  • Parker Lachowsky
  • Jedidiah Mahan
  • Rebecca McDonald
  • Alissa Mirochnitchenko
  • Shanzay Mohammad
  • Joy Mong
  • Callie Nance
  • Thanh Nguyen
  • Dexter Nwachukwu
  • Taylor Orcutt
  • Fatma Ozguc
  • Flora Park
  • Victoria Pierce
  • Blake Pruitt
  • Aaron Saleen Degrange
  • Matthew Schultz
  • Viktoria Taskov
  • Olivia Tomasco
  • Banesa Vazquez
  • Lianne Wagner
  • Shelley Watts
  • Alyssa Wilder
  • Ann Wingard
  • Sabri Zooper

TCOM Faculty Inductees

  • Dr. James Aston
  • Dr. Kendi Hensel
  • Dr. Katrina Roop
  • Dr. Russel Wagner
Dr. John Mills, Associate Professor at the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine
TCOM professor appointed to state council overseeing opioid settlement funds

John Mills, DO, a long-time HSC faculty member, has been appointed to serve on the Texas Opioid Abatement Fund Council by Governor Greg Abbott. Drug overdose deaths increased 34 percent in Texas from 2019 to 2020. The Council’s duties include developing the approved Texas list of abatement st...Read more

Aug 2, 2021

PA students; Jana Brown and Ashley Boehm
Need advice about PA school? Check out these HSC students’ Instagram

By Diane Smith-Pinckney Jana Brown and Ashley Boehm are just like sisters.  They finish each other’s sentences. They chuckle in unison, both have male Tabby cats and both are second-year physician assistant students at The University of North Texas Health Science Center at For...Read more

Jul 30, 2021

Dorota Stankowska and her husband Rafal Fudala love to garden together.
Have you checked your social wellness? HSC experts say it's key to a healthier life.

By Diane Smith-Pinckney Making sure a loved one is healthy often involves checking temperature, blood pressure, and heart rate.  Now, experts at The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth (HSC) want families and friends to add social wellness to that list.  Taking ...Read more

Jul 29, 2021

Titus Regional Medical Center Droneshot
HSC partnership with rural Texas hospital boosts health literacy and cultural humility

By Alex Branch As Titus County grew into a COVID-19 hot spot last summer, Terry Scoggin realized the rural hospital he leads needed to make some big changes.   The east Texas county is 40 percent Hispanic — many drawn there by jobs in the manufacturing and food processing industry ...Read more

Jul 28, 2021