TCOM Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society welcomes new inductees

Gold Humanism Honor Society TCOM students

The humanistic side of medicine is flourishing at the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine (TCOM) at the University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth. The TCOM Chapter of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation inducted 32 students and four faculty members into the Gold Humanism Honor Society during a ceremony at the Fort Worth Botanical Gardens. 

The students, all members of the Class of 2023, were chosen for their outstanding humanistic behaviors shown during medical school. 

“What is truly important at the end of the day is when you have a patient come in and leave your office and say ‘thank you’ for helping them out,” Dr. Frank Filipetto, Everett Endowed Professor and Dean of TCOM, told the students. “I look forward to you doing the right things for patients and being the most humanistic providers that we want you to be. Congratulations, and keep up the good work.”  

Along with the students, TCOM Faculty members Dr. Meaghan Nelsen, Dr. Samuel Selby, Dr. James Haliburton and Dr. Cheryl Hurd were inducted into the Honor Society.  

The Gold Foundation champions humanism in health care, which they define as compassionate, collaborative and scientifically excellent care. The non-profit organization at TCOM was founded for recognizing students, residents and faculty who are exemplars of compassionate patient care and who serve as role models, mentors and leaders in medicine. 

Dr. Arnold P. Gold, a pediatric neurologist, began the foundation in 1988. His belief in the importance of an empathic bedside manner led him and his wife, Sandra, to create the foundation to inspire young physicians to practice compassionate patient care. 

TCOM Student Inductees

Ly Nguyen Julia Janecki Jennifer Pham  Sadie Thompson 
Shanon Quach Louisa Weindruch Ashley Devoll  Arkoon Ali 
Cassidy Miller Arianne Felicitas Lauren West  Pulkit Vats 
Alexander Nguyen Clarence Sparks Anjali Patel  Hannah Ditter 
Kendrick Lim Suhas Tatapudi Maheen Ahmed  Amal Khan 
Amogh Krishnagiri  Shoaleh Motamedi Paul Spore  Christine Chin 
Cassie Morgan Lauren McCormack Nora Tran  Hope Patchen 
Taylor Terlizzese Danielle Esteban  Alyssa Nguyen  Rabab Naqvi  

TCOM Faculty Inductees

Dr. Meaghan Nelsen
Dr. Samuel Selby
Dr. James Haliburton
Dr. Cheryl Hurd  

Recent News

Screenshot 2024 06 20 At 3.45.01 pm
  • Our People
|Jun 20, 2024

From sacrifice to success: a journey through physical therapy school

Ancelmo Mojarro came to Fort Worth to study. The Tyler native knew he wanted to be a physical therapist early on his undergraduate days. He embarked on his path to physical therapy a decade ago, inspired by a friend's suggestion amidst his quest to find his calling in the medical field. “I starte...
  • Our People
|Jun 20, 2024

HSC pro bono physical therapy program offers hope

For 70-year-old Beverly Rozanski, the journey to improved health has been long and challenging. Raised in Michigan, Rozanski spent her childhood and early adult years struggling with physical challenges that made even the simplest tasks seem insurmountable. However, her discovery of a pro bono p...
Mills John
  • Our People
|Jun 20, 2024

Team of HSC experts develops national position statement for NCCHC on care for aging patients in correctional facilities

Addressing an overlooked and sometimes neglected patient population, a group of experts from The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth partnered with the National Commission on Correctional Health Care to write a “Care for Aging Patients in the Correctional Setting” posit...
Jennifer Fix 2 Purple
  • Education
|Jun 18, 2024

Pharmacy technician shortage driving force behind new, online prep course

A self-paced, online Pharmacy Technician Preparation Course is now being offered through The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth as a way to help combat the shortage of pharmacy technicians at hospitals, health systems and retail pharmacies. Recognized by the Pharmacy Tech...