HSC College of Nursing dean recognized with three honors for outstanding commitment to nursing profession  

Cindy West Aan Fellow[61]
Photo Credits: EPNAC.com
The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth is proud to announce that the founding dean of its College of Nursing, Cindy Weston, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC, CHSE, FAANP, recently received three prestigious nursing honors in recognition of her outstanding contributions to the profession.

Weston was honored with the following awards and accolades:

American Academy of Nursing Fellow

Weston was inducted into the academy’s 2023 Class of Fellows for her substantial, sustained and outstanding impact on health and health care. With more than 3,000 fellows, the academy represents nursing’s most accomplished leaders in policy, research, administration, practice and academia. The academy’s inductees are selected after a rigorous and competitive application process.

Texas Nurse Practitioners 2023 Nurse Practitioner of the Year

This award recognizes a nurse practitioner who demonstrates excellence and serves as a role model for the nurse practitioner profession. As the former TNP president, Weston has demonstrated unrelenting dedication to improving the health and well-being of all Texans through her work as a nurse practitioner, and advocacy for all nurses and the next generation of health care professionals.

University of Texas Medical Branch School of Nursing Alumni Association 2023 Hall of Fame Award

The award goes to UTMB alumni who have made contributions to nursing through a commitment to excellence in patient care, research, published work, education, community service and leadership. Weston earned a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from the university.

Weston’s impact on HSC

“We are incredibly proud of Dr. Weston’s achievements from these highly respected organizations,” said Charles Taylor, PharmD, HSC provost and executive vice president for academic affairs. “Her commitment and dedication to advancing the nursing profession is a testament to why we are so fortunate to have her as our founding dean of the College of Nursing.”

Dr. Weston’s commitment to nursing excellence and passion already has impacted HSC’s College of Nursing. Her achievements and awards reflect the university’s mission of creating solutions for a healthier community and dedication to providing high-quality education.

The UNT System Board of Regents approved the creation of the HSC College of Nursing in February to help address the shortage of nurses in Texas. In August, it approved the college’s first two degree offerings, a Registered Nurse to Bachelor of Science in Nursing (RN to BSN) and a Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) in Nursing Practice Innovation. The degrees are slated to be offered in fall 2024, when the college’s first students will start classes. Before enrolling students, the degrees also must be approved by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board and the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

For more information about HSC’s new College of Nursing, visit www.unthsc.edu/college-of-nursing.

Recent News

7281bfad 8597 4cef 80de B58ea8a26ab5
  • Community
|Jun 10, 2024

North Texas Asthma Summit to improve asthma outcomes for children

Representatives from 10 North Texas organizations will come together Wednesday with one common goal in mind: improving health outcomes for children with poorly controlled asthma. The goal of the North Texas Asthma Summit is to develop community partnerships to help these children who frequently e...
Dobbs Headshot
  • Our People
|Jun 7, 2024

School of Health Professions welcomes three new staff members

The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth’s School of Health Professions is excited to announce three new staff members in the dean’s office. Christa Lo, DHSc, MPAS, PA-C, joins SHP as associate dean. In her role, she will assist in overseeing the school’s academic...
  • Our People
|Jun 6, 2024

TCOM Alumnus Dr. Frederick White receives the Gold Medal Award for Distinguished Service from the AOCR

In recognition of his outstanding leadership, dedication and service, Frederick E. White, DO, FAOCR, a 1977 graduate from the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine at The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth, was selected as the recipient of the American Osteopathic College ...
Hampton 5
  • On Campus
|Jun 5, 2024

Hampton University representatives visit HSC to build partnerships

A delegation of five representatives from Hampton University visited The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth’s campus on Friday. Hampton University is a private, historically Black university founded in 1868 in Hampton, Virginia. The group included President of Ham...