Commencement is May 15 at TCU

Camille Miller, president and CEO of the Texas Health Institute (THI), will speak at the UNT Health Science Center commencement ceremonies on May 15.

The ceremonies will take place at 3 p.m. in Daniel-Meyer Coliseum at Texas Christian University. Tickets are not required for admission to the commencement ceremony, and there is no limit to the number of people a student may invite.

Commissioning ceremonies for students who will be joining the military will take place immediately following the commencement ceremony.

Miller has been the president and CEO of THI since its inception in 1996. After completing bachelor’s and master’s degrees in sociology and social work, Miller gained extensive experience in policy research and development while she served under two governors and two lieutenant governors, a state comptroller and state senator planning, researching and developing state policy to address health and human services issues. She also held executive staff positions at the Texas Department of Community Affairs and the Texas Department of Protective and Regulatory Services. As chief of staff for the Texas Senate Committee on Health and Human Services, she supervised legislative interim studies on medically fragile children, reorganization of health and human services and Medicaid.

Miller currently serves on the Board of Visitors at the Health Science Center and the Board of Directors of the Texas Public Health Museum, Communities in Action and the American College of Mental Health Administration. She also serves on the National Board of Communities Joined in Action, the National Rural Health Association Interest Group on Medicaid, the Advisory Councils of Baylor University’s School of Social Work, Hankamer School of Business Healthcare Administration Program, Texas A&M Health Science Center’s Masters of Healthcare Administration Professional Advisory Committee and The University of Texas School of Social Work Advisory Committee.

Navin Rauniyar, 2010 graduate, will be presented with the Chancellor’s Award during commencement. As the recipient of that award, he will deliver remarks. Rauniyar is graduating from the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences.

For more information about the commencement ceremony, visit the Web site or contact the registrar’s office at 817-735-2201. Daniel-Meyer Coliseum is located at 2900 Stadium Drive in Fort Worth.

Recent News

Ram flyer
  • Community
|Nov 23, 2022

Free pop-up medical, vision and dental clinic is just a week away

The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth and Remote Area Medical – RAM® — a nonprofit provider of pop-up clinics that delivers free quality dental, vision and medical care to those in need — are bringing the free health care clinic to Dallas on Dec. 3 and 4. After th...
Mathis, Borjas, Luna Smith Hsc Teaching Chair
  • Community
|Nov 18, 2022

HSC partners with Fort Worth ISD to honor outstanding science teacher 

The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth is committed to supporting science and health education for students at all levels of their academic journeys.  Since last year, HSC has sponsored Fort Worth Independent School District’s Chair for Teaching Excellence in Seconda...
Dr. Sid O'Bryant
  • Research
|Nov 14, 2022

Key study results from HSC’s Institute for Translational Research published in the Journal of Alzheimer’s Disease

Findings from a recent study by the team at the Institute for Translational Research led by Dr. Sid O’Bryant at The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth have been published by the Journal of Alzheimer’s Disease. The article, “Characterization of Mild Cognitive Impairme...
John Mulstad
  • Our People
|Nov 11, 2022

Recognizing veterans in HSC’s School of Health Professions

Today, and every day, we are proud to recognize the faculty, staff and students of the School of Health Professions who have answered the selfless call to serve as health care providers and in their country's military. We commend and celebrate the patriotism, sacrifices and selfless service of al...