Alexander Named Young Physician of the Year by State Organization

Jennifer Alexander, DO, assistant professor of internal medicine at UNT Health Science Center, was named the Young Physician of the Year by the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association. This is the first year that the organization has presented the award.

According to TOMA, the new award, the highest honor that TOMA bestows on an osteopathic physician, is given in recognition of outstanding community service; excellence in osteopathic medical practice; and contributions to public health, medical education and service to the osteopathic profession in Texas. The recipient must have been in practice five years or less.

Dr. Alexander practices at the Patient Care Center on the health science center campus. She is co-director of the Center for Womenâ??s Health, a recently established collaborative effort by the health science center and JPS Health Network to establish a center that addresses all aspects of a womanâ??s health while establishing research initiatives to further the science of womenâ??s health.

Dr. Alexander was active in the Hurricane Katrina efforts coordinated by the health science center. She is an active TOMA member and serves in its House of Delegates, the legislative body of the association. She is also active in her divisional society, TOMA District 2, currently serving as president-elect.

She was named a Top Doc for 2006 in the April issue of Fort Worth, Texas magazine in the internal medicine category.

Dr. Alexander received her doctorate of osteopathic medicine degree in 2000 from the Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine in Tulsa. She completed an internship and an internal medicine residency at the Osteopathic Medical Center of Texas in Fort Worth.

The award was presented to Dr. Alexander during the 107th Annual TOMA Convention and Scientific Seminar.


Contact: Kay Colley 817-735-2553, cell 817-980-5090, e-mail

Recent News

Mills John
  • Our People
|Jun 20, 2024

Team of experts from HSC and TCOM develop a national position statement for NCCHC on care for aging patients in correctional facilities

Addressing an overlooked and sometimes neglected patient population, a group of experts from The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth partnered with the National Commission on Correctional Health Care to write a “Care for Aging Patients in the Correctional Setting” posit...
Jennifer Fix 2 Purple
  • Education
|Jun 18, 2024

Pharmacy technician shortage driving force behind new, online prep course

A self-paced, online Pharmacy Technician Preparation Course is now being offered through The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth as a way to help combat the shortage of pharmacy technicians at hospitals, health systems and retail pharmacies. Recognized by the Pharmacy Tech...
7281bfad 8597 4cef 80de B58ea8a26ab5
  • Community
|Jun 10, 2024

North Texas Asthma Summit to improve asthma outcomes for children

Representatives from 10 North Texas organizations will come together Wednesday with one common goal in mind: improving health outcomes for children with poorly controlled asthma. The goal of the North Texas Asthma Summit is to develop community partnerships to help these children who frequently e...
Dobbs Headshot
  • Our People
|Jun 7, 2024

School of Health Professions welcomes three new staff members

The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth’s School of Health Professions is excited to announce three new staff members in the dean’s office. Christa Lo, DHSc, MPAS, PA-C, joins SHP as associate dean. In her role, she will assist in overseeing the school’s academic...