Valubility of the Year – 2018

Valubility of the Year is the Health Science Center’s highest honor, reserved for recognizing truly extraordinary acts of Valubility that represent us at our best. Here are this year’s honorees:

 Voty 2018 Bowman Crop 226x300

Paul Bowman, MD, Professor and Chair, Pediatrics

Paul Bowman lives out our values. He is a role model for physicians and teachers, and shows great respect for students, faculty, staff and patients. He collaborates with other physicians and researchers in the Fort Worth-Dallas area and also recruits them to teach and advise some of his own students. He focuses on how to help those around him.

Nominators: Riyaz Basha and Nusrath Habiba

Voty 2018 Menegaz Crop 230x300

Rachel Menegaz, PhD, Assistant Professor, Physiology and Anatomy

Rachel Menegaz lives out her passion not only for her field of study, but also for teaching.

She works hard to help her students succeed, always working to make the information she presents fresh and interesting.

Many times she goes out of her way to help all her students succeed not only in her class, but also in all their TCOM studies.

Nominators: Rajeha Butt, Layla Farahani and Kristina Fraser (TCOM students)


Voty 2018 Team Research Compliance Crop 300x149

Office of Research Compliance: (In order from left to right) Jessica Bird, Amanda Oglesby, Itzel Pena Perez, Deb Ceron, Christina Aguilar, Susan Harlin, Tania Ghani, Christine Keas, and (not pictured) Katelyn Rockenbach.

This team conducts important and sensitive conversations with tact and composure.

They interact with a majority of people on campus–and even if situations are frustrating, they handle them with politeness and a smile.

The team stands firm with integrity for the studies that they are overseeing, even when being pushed to speed up the process.

Nominator: Brian Gladue

Voty 2018 Cheng Yuet Crop 221x300

Cheng Yuet, PharmD, Assistant Professor, Pharmacotherapy

Cheng Yuet initiated new avenues for continued professional growth for the Pharmacotherapy faculty.

Also, she volunteers her time to help with continuous improvement for the department.

She collaborates on patient care, and always listens before offering a suggestion.

She checks regularly on how her colleagues’ work is progressing and offers to help.

Nominators: Jessica Gardea, Christina Hay, Monica Kean, Nirupama Sabnis and Annesha White


Valubility of the Year honorees receive:

· Reserved parking space in their permitted lot

· Group lunch with President Michael Williams

· 16 hours of paid administrative leave