Goldstein Lecture


Murray Goldstein, DO, MPH

The Osteopathic Research Center established the Goldstein Lecture Award in honor of Murray Goldstein, DO, MPH, to recognize his many accomplishments that advanced the osteopathic profession. The Award is generously supported through a grant from the Osteopathic Heritage Foundation in Columbus, Ohio.

Dr. Goldstein served in the U.S. Army during World War II, and received the Purple Heart and the Silver Star for his service. He earned his doctor of osteopathic medicine degree in 1950 from the Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine. He completed a fel­lowship in neurology at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, and earned a master of public health degree from the University of California School of Public Health at Berkeley.

Dr. Goldstein was the first osteopathic physician to be appointed as a commissioned medical officer in the U.S. Public Health Service in 1953. He was subsequently named an assistant surgeon general in the U.S. Public Health Service with the rank of Rear Admiral.

Dr. Goldstein has been recognized internationally as a leader in re­search on cerebrovascular disorders and on disorders of the developing brain. He served as director of the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke at the National Institutes of Health from 1982 to 1993. He then served as director and chief operating officer of United Cerebral Palsy from 1993 to 2003. He has served on numerous advisory boards, commit­tees and councils throughout his career, including as past president of the Academy of Medicine in Washington, D.C. Dr. Goldstein currently resides in Bethesda, Maryland.

He has long been an advocate of developing a strong evidence base for osteopathic medicine. He served on a committee to develop a national center of excellence for osteopathic manipula­tion research. The work of that committee culminated in the founding of The Osteopathic Research Center here on our campus as the profes­sion-wide research center in 2002.

Goldstein Lecture Award Recipients

This page was last modified on June 11, 2018