Fast Facts

Tudent with patientFounded in 1970 as the nation’s seventh osteopathic medical school.

Our Campus

TCOM is located on the UNT Health Science Center campus in the Medical Education Training (MET) Building. The Health Science Center complex houses lecture halls, training rooms, patient care facilities, and research labs.

TCOM Admissions

Over 2,500 applications are received annually for the Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine program.

TCOM Enrollment

913 osteopathic students

TCOM Faculty

Over 259 full-time faculty members. The full-time faculty is augmented by over 650 part-time faculty members.

Governing Body

TCOM is a state-supported medical school and a component of the UNT Health Science Center. The HSC is governed by the University of North Texas System Board of Regents.


The University of North Texas Health Science Center is accredited by the Commission on College of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. TCOM is accredited by the AOA Bureau of Professional Education of the American Osteopathic Association.

*If you have concerns or complaints regarding accreditation, they should be directed to:

COCA, the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation
142 East Ontario Street – Chicago, Illinois 60611
Phone: 800.621.1773
On the

This page was last modified on June 15, 2015