CAS Learning and Development Model

The Council for the Advancement of Standards in Higher Education (CAS) provides a model for student learning and development  that assists our office identify and assess necessary and desirable learning outcomes for our students as a result of participating in our programs and services.

Domain 1: Knowledge acquisition, construction, integration, and application
• Understanding knowledge from a range of disciplines
• Connecting knowledge to other knowledge, ideas, and experiences
• Constructing knowledge
• Relating knowledge to daily life

Domain 2: Cognitive Complexity
• Critical thinking
• Reflective thinking
• Effective reasoning
• Creativity

Domain 3: Intrapersonal Development
• Realistic self-appraisal, self-understanding, and self-respect
• Identity development
• Commitment to ethics and integrity
• Spiritual awareness

Domain 4: Interpersonal Competence
• Meaningful relationships
• Interdependence
• Collaboration
• Effective leadership

Domain 5: Humanitarianism and Civic Engagement
• Understanding and appreciation of cultural and human differences
• Global perspective
• Social responsibility
• Sense of civic responsibility

Domain 6: Practical Competence
• Pursuing goals
• Communicating effectively
• Technological competence
• Managing personal affairs
• Managing career development
• Demonstrating professionalism