UNTHSC School of Public Health appoints new assistant dean

September 1, 2009 • Uncategorized

ElizabethDawsonImgThe University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth (UNTHSC) School of Public Health has named Dr. Elizabeth (Liz) Treviño Dawson as new Assistant Dean for Curriculum.  In this role, her work will focus on the school’s Master of Health Administration (MHA) and enhanced Doctor of Public Health (DrPH) degree programs.

Dr. Treviño Dawson joins UNTHSC from Baylor Health Care System, Dallas, Texas, where she most recently served as Health Equity Manager, studying, reporting and designing solutions to health disparities in hospital care delivery and patient outcomes.

She is a graduate of the UNTHSC School of Public Health, where she received both her DrPH and Master of Public Health (MPH) degrees.

She has previously worked as a consumer health specialist for the City of Fort Worth, Texas, Health Department and in various prior research and staff roles at UNTHSC, including five years as coordinator for the Texas Public Health Training Center, a collaborative public health workforce training program of UNTHSC, the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston and Texas A&M Health Science Center’s School of Rural Public Health.

Dr. Treviño Dawson currently serves as a Board member and secretary for the first federally qualified community health center in Tarrant County, Texas, the Fort Worth Northside Community Health Center; as member of the Fort Worth United Way Health Council; and member of the Association of Schools of Public Health (ASPH) expert DrPH Panel and DrPH Competency Development Project, and the Area Health Education Center (AHEC) Advisory Board.  She is also a member of the American Public Health Association (APHA).

In addition to numerous publications and presentations addressing health disparities and access to health care, Dr. Treviño Dawson is currently serving as co-investigator on a community-based partnership grant addressing diabetes disparities in Dallas County for the Merck Company Foundation.