Three North Texas students selected for Quality Leadership Academy

June 22, 2012 • Uncategorized

mhastudentsThree students from the UNT Health Science Center’s School of Public Health, Fort Worth, Texas, have been selected to participate in the Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) Open School 2012 Student Quality Leadership Academy in Cambridge, Massachusetts, in July. The Master of Health Administration (MHA) students – pictured left to right, Derrick Villa, Megan Clark and Shane Jones – were selected from among more than 300 applicants.Sponsored by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, this year’s 3rd annual Student Quality Leadership Academy is a two-day program designed to build health profession leadership competencies.Dr. Donald Berwick, former administrator of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services and former president and CEO of the Institute for Healthcare Improvement, will lead the July 19-20 program along with other expert faculty from within and outside the health care community.Through the program, participants will develop their own skills to lead change, manage projects, handle conflict and communicate more effectively.