Congratulations to SPH RAD winners

April 16, 2018 • Uncategorized

By Sally Crocker

This year’s UNT Health Science Center Research Appreciation Day (RAD) followed in its long tradition of featuring outstanding speakers, quality research, poster presentations and honors for student and team member achievements.

RAD is an institutional event encompassing medicine, public health and basic science. The program provides an opportunity for students, faculty and staff to share their research efforts with the campus community and the public.

The program encourages the development of joint research projects and increases the community’s awareness of the outstanding quality and range of research conducted at UNT Health Science Center.

This year’s School of Public Health awardees were:


Rad Thombs And 1st Place Winner 2018
First place winner Abdullah Mamun with SPH Dean, Dr. Dennis Thombs

1st Place Poster ($500)

Presenter: Abdullah Mamun

Title: Using Machine Learning Technique To Explore Factors Associated With Change In Quality Of Life Among Permanent Supportive Housing Residents


2nd Place Poster ($350)

Presenter: Alexis Rendon

Title: Differences By Depression Severity Category In Cigarette Smoking Among Low-Income Housing Residents


Rad Thombs And 3rd Place Winners 2018
Third place winners Armando L. Moreno (left) and Brandon Hoff (right) with Dean Thombs

3rd Place Poster ($200) – (TIE)

Presenter: Armando L. Moreno

Title: A Market-Based Approach To Improving Passive Surveillance Of Tuberculosis In Tarrant County



Presenter: Brandon Hoff

Title: The Association Between Enrollment In The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program And Household Food Security Status


Congratulations to all of the 2018 honorees from the School of Public Health and across the university. For the full list of UNTHSC winners, visit the RAD website.