Community Volunteer Named to Public Health Honor Society

June 4, 2014 • Uncategorized

Dean Kurz and Libby Watson with
Dr. David Sterling, President of the
SPH Alpha Sigma Chapter of
Delta Omega

For the first time, UNT Health Science Center School of Public Health (UNTHSC SPH) has inducted a community volunteer – Elizabeth A. (Libby) Watson – into Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health.

Delta Omega recognizes students, faculty and professionals who have contributed to the field of public health and made contributions to the health of all people.

Ms. Watson was honored at the school’s May commencement ceremonies for her outstanding contributions to public health within the Fort Worth community and at UNTHSC and the SPH.

A former Assistant City Manager for the City of Fort Worth who held similar positions in Austin and San Diego, California, she has served as Chair of the Public Health and Prevention Council, one of three outreach councils of the Health Science Center.

“Libby has been responsible for recruiting many local leaders to the Council and educating them on the nature and importance of public health in Tarrant County and Fort Worth,” noted Dr. Richard Kurz, SPH Dean.  “Libby has been a spokesperson for public health and the role that our school needs to play locally in this regard.  She is the consummate advocate for a cause, and we are fortunate that she has a strong belief in the importance of public health.”

A native Texan who earned her Bachelor of Science degree in Social Sciences from California Polytechnic State University and her master’s in Public Administration from San Diego State University, Ms. Watson was awarded the Mike Moncrief “Believing in Youth” award in 2008 and a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Girl Scouts of Texas Oklahoma Plains this spring.

She is a former Chair of the First Texas Camp Fire Council’s Corporate Champions for Children Task Force, has served on the Board of Directors of The Texas Oklahoma Plains Girl Scout Council and was involved with Leadership Development for the Integrated Emergency Response Advisory Board at Texas A&M’s George Bush School.  In addition to her work with UNTHSC, she currently serves on the Child Study Center Board of Directors, the United Way of Tarrant County Women’s Leadership Council Steering Committee and the Mimir Chamber Music Festival Committee.