Civic Council Chair recognized for public health leadership with new scholarship in her name

October 2, 2014 • Uncategorized

Scholarship recipient Irene Reyes (left) with Libby Watson and Dean Richard Kurz





For six years, volunteer Libby Watson has helped the UNT Health Science Center School of Public Health (SPH) build partnerships, engage local leaders and tackle top priority public health issues in the community by serving as Chair of the university’s Public Health and Prevention Council.

Recently, as she passed the gavel to incoming Chair Shirley Little, Ms. Watson was honored with a $2,500 scholarship in her name, presented to student Irene Reyes, who will complete her Master of Public Health (MPH) degree in December 2014 in Behavioral and Community Health.

“Libby has a passion for making life better for citizens. She understands public health and how it works to create a healthier community for everyone,” explained SPH Dean Richard Kurz, PhD, in presenting the award.

“Libby is truly one of us. At our May 2014 commencement ceremonies, we named Libby to Delta Omega Honorary Society, a membership usually reserved for public health faculty, students and professionals in the field; this new scholarship is yet another way to recognize her contributions to public health,” Dr. Kurz said.

Scholarship recipient Ms. Reyes said she plans to donate part of the award to Alley’s House, a Dallas non-profit organization that helps empower teen mothers and their children through support services, education and mentoring. She completed an internship with the agency as part of her MPH professional practice experience and now continues working there as a program supervisor.