CEPH Accreditation Self-Study

Notice of Third Party Comments Regarding Reaccreditation Review

The UNT Health Science Center School of Public Health (UNTHSC – SPH) GISis currently participating in a review for reaccreditation by the Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH). The SPH has maintained its ongoing status since first being accredited by CEPH in 2002. The SPH has been in preparations with CEPH for reaccreditation over the last two years. A preliminary self-study has been sent to the accrediting body and preliminary reviewers to prepare for an official site visit June 3-5, 2015.

Students, alumni, faculty, the practice community and other interested parties are invited to provide input to the site-visit team. CEPH will accept third-party comments about the school’s programs, practices and procedures until 30 days prior to the scheduled site visit.

The deadline for submitting comments to CEPH is May 3, 2015. Written comments can be sent to:

Samantha-Rae Dickenson, MSPH
Accreditation Specialist
Council on Education for Public Health
1010 Wayne Avenue, Suite 220
Silver Spring, MD 20910

CEPH is an independent agency recognized by the US Department of Education to accredit schools of public health and public health programs offered in settings other than schools of public health.  The Council’s focus is the improvement of health through the assurance of professional personnel who are able to identify, prevent and solve community health problems. CEPH’s objectives are:

  1. to promote quality in public health education through a continuing process of self-evaluation by the schools and programs that seek accreditation;
  2. to assure the public that institutions offering graduate instruction in public health have been evaluated and judged to meet standards essential for the conduct of such educational programs; and
  3. to encourage – through periodic review, consultation, research, publications and other means – improvements in the quality of education for public health.

Many thanks go to the SPH CEPH reaccreditation committee for their efforts throughout this process:

  • Dr. Richard Kurz, Dean of the School of Public Health
  • Dr. Christine Moranetz, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs (Chair)
  • Dr. Witold Migala, Assistant Professor of Epidemiology
  • Dr. Liam O’Neill, Associate Professor of Health Management and Policy
  • Dr. David Sterling, Professor and Chair of Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences
  • Dr. Dennis Thombs, Professor and Chair of Behavioral and Community Health
  • Ms. Elizabeth Medders, Director of Admissions
  • Ms. Catherine Sembajwe-Reeves, Assistant Director of Academic Affairs
  • Dr. Misty Smethers, Assistant Director of Academic Services
  • Ms. Libby Watson, Community Member and Immediate Past Chair of the UNTHSC Public Health and Prevention Council
  • Ms. Ginny Hickman, Community Member and Assistant Vice President, Community Health Outreach, Cook Children’s Health Care System
  • Dr. Gillian Franklin, MPH and PhD Alumna
  • Dr. Joyce Hood, MPH and DrPH Alumna
  • Ms. Lindsey Eley Yates, MPH Alumna
  • Ms. Amy Board, MPH Alumna and DrPH Student
  • Mr. Opeyemi Jegede, MPH Student
  • Mr. Martin Ostensen, JD, MBA, MHA Student
  • Ms. Neha Patel, MPH Student
  • Ms. Sofie Tai, MPH Student
  • Ms. Kari Teigen, MPH Student