Categorized: Uncategorized

Cultural understanding impacts disease control and education

Posted Date: May 25, 2016

In a war-torn country where poverty, starvation, poor living conditions and limited access to health care paints a bleak picture, there is still a certain formality in the way life is lived and customs are observed. As UNT Health Science Center Assistant Professor Erin Carlson, DrPH, experienced during a recent trip to Uganda – where… Read more »

Epidemiology students receive national honors

Posted Date: May 24, 2016

For the second year, two UNT Health Science Center School of Public Health students have been selected from a nationwide search for the Graduate Student Epidemiology Training Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services – Health Resources & Services Administration (HRSA). The summer program provides hands-on Maternal and Child Health epidemiology… Read more »

Building homes, building a healthier community

Posted Date: May 19, 2016

    UNT Health Science Center School of Public Health (SPH) students, faculty and staff recently participated in a Habitat for Humanity effort to help build homes for two Fort Worth families. The effort was coordinated by the UNTHSC Public Health Student Association. “It was great for our school to participate in this important effort,”… Read more »

Developing collaborations across the globe

Posted Date: May 13, 2016

  During a recent trip to South Korea in which he represented the UNTHSC School of Public Health (SPH), Joon Lee, PhD, Associate Professor of Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences, presented two of his research studies to scholarly and governmental audiences. He spoke on “An Application of Entomology in Urban Social Environment” at Andong National… Read more »

Health Innovations Contest 2016

Posted Date: May 2, 2016

As part of National Public Health Week 2016, SPH students were invited to present their ideas for improving the world in this year’s Health Innovations Contest. The national theme for this year’s celebration was “Healthiest Nation 2030,” sponsored by the American Public Health Association, with a focus on building a nation of safe, healthy communities;… Read more »

SPH End of Year Awards

Posted Date: April 27, 2016

National Public Health Week 2016 concluded with the UNTHSC School of Public Health (SPH) annual awards ceremony, held at Marquis on Magnolia in Fort Worth, where student, faculty, staff and community special honors were presented. Kwynn Gonzalez-Pons, MPH, Community Health, was presented with the Richard S. Kurz Award, given to an outstanding public health graduate exemplifying… Read more »

Plan4Health looks toward healthier living

Posted Date: April 15, 2016

UNTHSC School of Public Health (SPH) Adjunct Instructor and Practice Experience Liaison Melissa Oden, DHEd, recently attended the American Planning Association’s (APA) national conference in Phoenix, Arizona, to participate in a panel discussion on building collaborations and the Plan4Health grant that she has been involved with for the last 18 months. Dr. Oden was invited… Read more »

Student’s inspiration leads to WHO internship

Posted Date: April 8, 2016

UNTHSC student Courtney Searles decided to study public health because of her dad. Diagnosed with cancer at age 24, her father had grown up close to a chemical plant, where environmental factors may have contributed to his illness. Her father lost his battle with the disease at 30, inspiring Courtney toward a career where she… Read more »

Public health students begin new partnerships in Uganda

Posted Date: March 11, 2016

  Scientists have long recognized the connection between diseases in animals and diseases in people. Tuberculosis, brucellosis and African sleeping sickness, for example, are common infections passed from livestock to individuals in some third-world countries. So when Katherine Fogelberg, DVM, PhD, with the UNTHSC School of Public Health announced a practice experience opportunity in Uganda… Read more »