SBS News

Ortega Lab Aai Awards

SBS students receive AAI awards

See you in DC! Members of the Ortega Lab will be attending and presenting at the American Association of Immunologists annual meeting. Congrats on receiving awards from AAI! Katherine Hernandez, PhD student: Minority Scientist Award Kaitlyn Bambino, Research Assistant II: Trainee Abstract Award Nathan Jones, PhD student: Minority Scientist Award

Kejin Hu 2

Welcome new faculty member: Kejin Hu, PhD

Kejin Hu, PhD, joins the Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Genetics as associate professor. Read more about Dr. Hu’s research and expertise.

Ukuf9jwt 400x400

SBS students receive American Physiology Society awards

HSC is well represented at the American Physiology Summit in Long Beach. Congrats to these physiology trainees who received APS awards this year! Austin Davis (PI: Dr. Caroline Rickards): 2023 Dr. Charles (Tip) Tipton Predoctoral Research Award, Environmental and Exercise Physiology Section Bella Ruiz (PI: Dr. Steven Romero): Martin Frank Diversity Travel Award Jonna Smith […]

Sbs 3560

2023 SBS Awards

We are tremendously proud of all of our students and their accomplishments. On April 20, we came together to celebrate their success at the annual SBS Awards Banquet. Congratulations to all award recipients! Dean’s Awards Alexa Kelly, Dean’s Award for Scholarly Achievement in Academics Jessica Proulx, Dean’s Award for Scholarly Achievement in Research Program Awards […]

Rad2023 Weblogo 500x425

Congratulations 2023 RAD award winners

Oral Presentation Award First Place, Jonna Smith, A new rodent model of preeclampsia: Pregnant daughters from hypertensive placental ischemic moms have hypertension Second Place, K. Austin Davis, Induced Blood Flow Oscillations at 0.1 Hz Protects Oxygenation of Severely Ischemic Tissue Postdoctoral Poster Presentation First Place, Julio Rincon, Microfluidic Chip for the evaluation of therapeutics and carrier drugs in […]

Austin Davis And Selina Tucker Banner Copy

SBS students receive American Heart Association fellowships

Austin Davis and Selina Tucker, both Ph.D. candidates in The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth’s School of Biomedical Sciences, were awarded two-year predoctoral fellowships from the American Heart Association.    AHA grants predoctoral fellowships to enhance the research and clinical training of promising students pursuing careers aimed at improving global cardiovascular, cerebrovascular […]

Bio Picture Lb 5

Libby Bradley receives American Association of Anatomy award

Congrats Libby Bradley, PhD candidate in Physiology and Anatomy! Libby was awarded an Education Research Scholarship from the American Association of Anatomy.

Wheels For Wellness Check Presentation

Fort Worth nonprofit supports cancer research at HSC

Since 2003, Wheels for Wellness, Inc. and a previous foundation with similar goals have donated more than $266,000 to help fund cancer research initiatives at HSC, including the research of Drs. Bruce Bunnell, chair and professor of Molecular Biology, Immunology and Genetics, at HSC’s School of Biomedical Sciences, and Andras Lacko, emeritus professor.  The team’s research […]

Austin Davis 2

Austin Davis receives American Physiological Society research award

Congratulations to Austin Davis, PhD candidate in Physiology and Anatomy, for receiving the American Physiological Society’s 2023 Dr. Charles (Tip) Tipton Predoctoral Research Award. Davis will present his research at the 2023 APS Summit in Long Beach, Calif.

Dr. Amit Tripathi selected to participate in prestigious accelerator

Texas Medical Center Innovation recently announced an HSC team’s research on breast cancer therapeutics was selected to be a part of the health care accelerator’s 2023 Accelerator for Cancer Therapeutics. The HSC team, led by School of Biomedical Sciences postdoctoral associate Amit Tripathi, was one of 21 researchers and companies to have been selected to […]