Education Council Members

Dimitrios Karamichos, Ph.D.(Education Council Chair)
Dean,  School of Biomedical Sciences

Rance Berg, Ph.D.
Director of Traditional Programs
Assistant Dean for Education and Admissions

Lisa Hodge, Ph.D.
Assistant Dean for Specialized Master’s Programs

Marcel Satsky Kerr, Ph.D.
Associate  Dean for Academic Affairs & Undergraduate Education

Michael Allen, Ph.D. (Until 8/31/2025)
Graduate Advisor, Cell Biology, Immunology, and Microbiology

Rance Berg, Ph.D. (Interim)
Graduate Advisor, Biochemistry and Cancer Biology

Denise Inman, Ph.D. (Until 8/31/2025)
Graduate Advisor, Visual Sciences

Rong Ma, M.D., Ph.D. (Until 8/31/2024)
Graduate Advisor, Integrative Physiology

Rachel Menegaz, Ph.D. (Until 8/31/2024)
Graduate Advisor, Structural Anatomy and Rehabilitative Science

Nicole Phillips, Ph.D. (Until 8/31/2026)
Graduate Advisor, Genetics

Dorota Stankowska, Ph.D. (Until 8/31/2024)
Program Director, Biotechnology

Michael Gatch, Ph.D. (Until 8/31/2024)
Graduate Advisor, Pharmacology and Neuroscience

Xiaowei Dong, Ph.D. (Until 8/31/2026)
Graduate Advisor, Pharmaceutical Sciences and Pharmacotherapy

Mark Cunningham, Ph.D. (Until 8/31/2025)
Graduate Faculty At-Large Representative

Sterling Ortega, Ph.D. (Until 8/31/2025)
Graduate Faculty At-Large Representative

Joseph Malaer, PhD
Ad hoc Member

Sabrina White, Ph.D. Candidate
Student Association of Biomedical Sciences President

Jennifer Pham, Ph.D. Candidate
Student Association of Biomedical Sciences Vice President

Ex-Officio Members (Non-Voting) 

Amanda Griffith
HSC Executive Director of Admissions

Kayleen Lam
Director of the Library

Derrick Smith
Executive Director of Student and Academic Services

Michael L. Smith, Ph.D.
Director of Dual Degree Programs

Kristina Clark
Director, Center for Academic Performance

John McKenzie
Executive Director of Distance Education & Learning