HSC Office of Environmental Health and Safety

The Office of Environmental Health and Safety’s (EH&S) primary role is to foster a safe and secure campus in a healthy learning environment where students, faculty, staff, and guests can thrive. EH&S is a service department that administers multiple programs including  Biological Safety, Chemical Safety, Radiological/Laser Safety, Fire Safety, Occupational Safety, and the Emergency Management Program. We also provide services such as ergonomic assessments, indoor air quality assessments, and emergency planning assistance for events. All the manuals generated by Environmental Health and Safety programs are considered as policy per UNTHSC policy 4.201 campus Operations.

UNTHSC-Biosafety Manual 2022
UNTHSC Chemical Safety Manual 2022
Fire Safety Manual 2022 
Radiation safety Manual 2022

Occupational Safety Plan 2022

Contact Information

Main Office
Phone: 817-735-2697
Safety@unthsc.edu

Chris Erickson, MBA, ASP, CHMM
Phone: 817-735-2245
Christopher.erickson@unthsc.edu
Director of EH&S

Maya Nair, PhD, RBP
Phone: 817-735-5431
maya.nair@unthsc.edu
Director of Biological & Radiological safety

Alan Corbitt
Phone: 817-735-2697
Assistant Director of Hazardous Materials
alan.corbitt@unthsc.edu

William Pingry
Phone: 817-735-2698
Program Manager of Fire and Occupational Safety
William.pingry@unthsc.edu

George Osei, PhD
Phone: 817-735-2243
Program Manager of Radiation  Safety
george.osei@unthsc.edu

 

Emergency Contact Numbers
HSC PD Emergency: 817-735-2600 or 2600 from campus phone
HSC PD Non-Emergency: 817-735-2210
Ft Worth PD: 911


Quick Links to Hazardous Waste Removal

Quick links to Laboratory Safety Survey Documents

Additional Safety Resources

Follow the UNTHSC Safety Office on Twitter