Tuition and Fees Information

The information in this web site is provided to better assist students in assessing the cost of enrolling at the University of North Texas Health Science Center (UNTHSC). While this information is intended to be comprehensive, tuition and fees, are subject to increase or decrease by action of the Texas Legislature and/or the Board of Regents of UNT. Students are responsible for any additional amounts due UNTHSC resulting from post audits and corrections, including all fees and waivers; i.e. registration assessing errors, changing from off-campus to on-campus classes, invalid employment waivers, etc.

UNTHSC is a state-supported institution and, as such, is subject to state laws. Since state law prohibits the extension of credit, all financial obligations to the university must be made when due. The university cannot cash checks made payable to it and the student. Checks made payable to the university and the student can be applied to a student’s account balance after obtaining the proper endorsement.

For school and program specific tuition and fee amounts, please click on the links found on the left side of this website.

2019-2020 Tuition Rates

All fees listed are subject to change

Tuition

Board Authorized Tuition ( §54.008)
Board authorized tuition must be approved by the governing board of the institution. It cannot be higher than the statutory rate.

Designated Tuition ( §54.0513)
Designated tuition allows the institution to determine the rate per semester credit hour to be charged. Designated tuition is charged in addition to the statutory and board authorized tuition. Designated tuition must be used to support the academic mission of the institution but maintains more flexibility than statutory tuition. The Board of Regents must approve designated tuition rates.

Excess Hours Tuition ( §54.012)
Doctoral students who take more than 130 semester credit hours to complete their degree will be subject to out-of-state tuition rates.

Statutory Tuition ( §54.051)
Statutory tuition rates are set by the Legislature. Tuition generated from statutory tuition must be deposited in the State Treasury and expenditures from these funds are subject to state expenditure guidelines.

Fees

wdt_ID Fees Cost Description
1 Cadaver Anatomy Fee ( §54.504) 500 A $500 fee is collected for each DO student during the first year of enrollment and a fee of $375 is collected during the DO second year of enrollment. PA and DPT students are charged this same $500 fee during the first year of enrollment only. This fee is also charged to GSBS Medical Sciences and Structural Anatomy students. A fee of $100 is collected for each PA student during the second year of enrollment. This fee covers the costs associated with student activities that involve dissections and prosections.
2 ID Card Fee ( §54.504) 25 A $25 ID card fee is collected from each student during his or her first term of enrollment. This fee covers the cost associated with issuing student identification cards. A replacement fee of $25 is charged for misplaced or damaged cards.
3 Installment Fee ( §54.007) 15 A fee of $15 will be charged to all students electing to pay tuition and fees by installment.
4 Instructional Fee - Academic Supplemental & Evaluation Fee ( §54.504) 187 A flat fee of $187 is charged to students enrolled in the Fall and Spring terms to support the services provided by the Center of Academic Performance and Office of Testing and Evaluation Services. This includes TCOM 1st, 2nd & 3rd year; SHP Master's Program 1st & 2nd year; SHP Doctorate Program 1st & 2nd year; SPH Master's Programs; GSBS Master's Programs; UNT System College of Pharmacy (SCP).
5 Instructional Fee - Assessment Services -Pharmacy Students ( §54.504) This fee will be charged to all pharmacy students in the fall semesters to support the assessment services provided for specific courses in which this service is utilized. For specific amounts click on this link
6 Instructional Fee - Assessment - Physician Assistant Studies Students ( §54.504) This fee will be charged to all physician assistant students in the fall semesters to support the purchase of E-Value which covers academic tracking, scheduling and e-portfolio. This fee also covers the cost of iClickers for first year PA students. For specific amounts click on this link.
7 Instructional Fee - Board Review Materials - Medical Students( §54.504) An instructional fee of $766 will be charged to all second year medical students and $199 will be charged to all third year medical students in the fall semester to support their preparation for the Board Examination.
8 Instructional Fee - Clinical Experience - Clinical Students ( §54.504) This is an annual fee, divided over the fall and spring terms to students enrolled in clinical experiences that support the services provided by the Clinical Affairs Office. This includes $156 for TCOM 1st, 2nd, & 3rd year students, $119 for School of Health Profession students (PA & DPT), and $96 for System College of Pharmacy students.
9 Instructional Fee - Clinical Education - Medical Students ( §54.504) This instructional fee of $499 will be charged in the fall semester to all third year medical students to cover expenses related to the required drug screening, clinical education software, and BLS and ACLS Certification.
10 Instructional Fee - Clinical Exams - Medical Students ( §54.504) This instructional fee of $315 will be charged in the fall semester to all third year medical students to cover expenses related to purchasing and administering Clerkship Subject Examinations.
Fees Cost Description

This page was last modified on July 26, 2019