

# **UNTHSC Faculty Senate**







The primary responsibility of the Senate shall be to represent the faculty concerning matters that pertain to the institution.

In that respect, the Senate shall be comprised of faculty who shall endeavor to advance the welfare of the institution. The senators shall also be charged with bringing matters from the schools, from which they are elected, to the Senate and informing their respective school and faculty about matters being considered by the Senate.

## **Faculty Senate Bylaws**



- The UNTHSC Faculty Bylaws are the faculty's "constitution" and the foundation of the faculty's role in shared governance.
- The current UNTHSC Faculty Bylaws were updated by the Faculty Policies and Faculty Bylaws Committee and approved by the Faculty Senate, Provost, and President.

# **Faculty Senate**



- Faculty participation in shared governance of the Health Science Center
- Faculty <u>Bylaws</u>
- <u>Senators</u>
  - 4 per College/School
  - Faculty Senate Meetings
    - 2<sup>nd</sup> Friday of each month (typically LIB 400) 8:00-9:30AM
    - <u>All</u> faculty are welcome to attend, but approval of Faculty Senate President required for non-faculty (it's a formality, 100% approval history!)

### **Representative Agenda**



Call to Order

**Opening Remarks** 

**Introduction of Alternates** 

**Approval of Minutes** 

Announcements

**Standing Items** 

- UNTHSC President
- UNTHSC Provost
- Cabinet Report
- Open Leadership Positions updates
- Colleges; Senators Reports (What is important to your faculty?)
  - GSBS SCP
  - SPH SHP
  - TCOM TCU/UNTHSC\*
- Resolution Status updates

**Old Business** 

- Faculty Awards Committee
- Faculty Senate Bylaws Revision Task Force
- Faculty Senate "Stay Interview" Task Force
- Communication Task Force update New Business

## Faculty Senators 2020-2021



#### • Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

- Harlan Jones, PhD
- Derek Schreihofer, PhD
- Caroline Rickards, PhD
- Nathalie Sumien, PhD

#### School of Health Professions

- Vic Holmes, MPAS, CPC, PA-C
- Kenneth Miller, PT, DPT, MA, GCS, CEEAA
- Veda Womack, MBA, PA-C
- Teresa Wagner, PhD

#### School of Public Health

- Scott Walters, PhD
- Dana Litt, PhD
- Thad Miller, PhD
- Menghua Tao, MD, PhD

Harlan.Jones@unthsc.edu Derek.Schreihofer@unthsc.edu Caroline.Rickards@unthsc.edu Nathalie.Sumien@unthsc.edu

Vic.Holmes@unthsc.edu Kenneth.Miller@unthsc.edu Veda.Womack@unthsc.edu teresa.wagner@unthsc.edu

<u>Scott.Walters@unthsc.edu</u> <u>Dana.Litt@unthsc.edu</u> <u>Thaddeus.Miller@unthsc.edu</u> <u>Menghua.Tao@unthsc.edu</u>

### Faculty Senators 2020-2021



#### Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine

- Michael Carletti, DO
- Yein Lee, DO, MMS
- Nancy Tierney, PhD, RN, ACNP-BC
- Damon Schranz, DO, FACOFP

#### • System College of Pharmacy

- Jennifer Fix, PharmD, MBA, BCGP, BCACP
- Jin Liu, PhD
- Rafia Rasu, PhD
- Catherine Wu, PhD

Jennifer.Fix@unthsc.edu Jin.Liu@unthsc.edu Rafia.Rasu@unthsc.edu Hongli.Wu@unthsc.edu

#### • Other

Faculty Bylaws Committee Chair Rustin Reeves, PhD.

#### Rustin.Reeves@unthsc.edu

Michael.Carletti@unthsc.edu Yein.Lee@unthsc.edu Nancy.Tierney@unthsc.edu Damon.Schranz@unthsc.edu



Composition

 Meetings of the faculty will be described as the faculty assembly. The faculty assembly shall be composed of the faculty members as defined in UNTHSC Faculty Bylaws, Article II, Section A. The faculty assembly is generally held to promote collegiality, exchange of information, and promotion of discussion.



Responsibilities

- The president or designee of the Faculty Senate shall preside at faculty assemblies.
- The faculty assembly shall be kept informed on all proposed amendments and/or substantive revisions to the faculty bylaws that are acted on by the Faculty Senate.
- Action of the Faculty Senate or standing committees of the UNTHSC may be referred to the faculty assembly by majority vote of the Faculty Senate or by petition of twenty percent (20%) of the voting membership of the faculty assembly.



Responsibilities (continued)

- The faculty assembly shall serve as a forum for the dissemination and exchange of ideas between the faculty and the administration.
- Robert's Rules of Order will be utilized to govern the proceedings of the faculty assembly.

**Procedure Policies** 

- Faculty assemblies shall be called by the President, provost, the Faculty Senate, or on request of the deans or on petition of twenty percent (20%) of the voting faculty.
- The faculty assembly shall be conducted at least three (3) times each year.



For Faculty Senate news, Senate Bylaws, Senate membership and contact information, minutes and meeting dates please visit the Faculty Senate webpage at:

www.unthsc.edu/academic-affairs/faculty-affairs/thefaculty-senate/

#### **Senate Executive Committee**



April Wiechmann: Senate President X2793 / <u>April.Wiechmann@unthsc.edu</u>

Melissa Lewis: President Elect X5136 / <u>Melissa.Lewis@unthsc.edu</u>

Yasser Salem: Past President X2982 / <u>Yasser.Salem@unthsc.edu</u>

Nat Paterson: Senate Support X2103 / <u>Nat.Paterson@unthsc.edu</u>

## **On Behalf of the Faculty Senate**



# Thank you for your kind attention

**Questions and Answers** 



