Early Career Development Council

Early Career Development Council (ECDC) – Provides support for the success and well-being of early-career faculty (those at the rank of Assistant Professor, Research Scientist, and Research Assistant Professor) via quarterly general meetings, writing accountability groups, activities specific to scholarship, teaching, and leadership, and social gatherings. Acts as a liaison to other university groups/offices to coordinate and disseminate information relevant to early-career faculty.

References/Materials

ECDC Bylaws — 2023.09.13

Upcoming Events

  • Coming Soon!

ECDC General Meetings Presentations

  • P&T Strategies for Success WorkshopMay 8, 2024
  • 2024 Spring I meeting —Developing People through Mentoring and Coaching — January 31, 2024
  • 2023 Fall II meeting Douse the Fire of Academic Burnout — November 29, 2023
  • 2023 Fall I meeting — Recent Policy and Legislative Updates: How do they affect early career faculty? — October 4, 2023
  • 2023 Spring meeting — P&T Best Practices for Early Career Faculty — April 18, 2023
  • 2023 Winter meeting — Critical Conversations — February 21, 2023
  • 2022 Fall meeting — P&T Best Practices for Early Career Faculty – December 6, 2022
  • 2022 Summer meeting — Up Goer 5 Challenge — July 27, 2022
  • 2022 Spring meeting – P&T Best Practices for Early Career Faculty – May 4, 2022
  • 2022 Winter meeting — Writing Your Way to Success — January 25, 2022
  • 2021 Fall meeting — Stress Management and Avoiding Academic Burn-out — October 21, 2021
  • 2021 Summer meeting — Up Goer 5 Challenge — July 15, 2021
  • 2021 Spring meeting — Best Preparing for 3rd Year Review/P&T Review — March 30, 2021
  • 2020 Winter meeting — Speed Networking — December 1, 2020
  • 2020 Fall meeting — P&T Best Practices for Early Career Faculty— September 23, 2020
  • 2019 Fall meeting — Project/Team Management
  • 2019 Summer meeting —Promotion & Tenure Process
  • 2019 Spring meeting — Writing Resources


Working Accountability Group (WAG)

If you have any questions regarding WAG, please contact Rhonda Arthur at earlycareer@unthsc.edu

Current Council members

Heads Up April 2017  

Kenya Samuels, MPAS, PA-C
ECDC Chair
Physician Assistant Studies/SHP
Kenya.Samuels@unthsc.edu

Joseph Malaer Small Joseph Malaer, PhD
ECDC Vice Chair
Microbiology, Immunology, and Genetics/SBS
Joseph.Malaer@unthsc.edu
Scott Web Scott Maddux, PhD
ECDC Past Chair and Ex Officio
Physiology and Anatomy/SBS
Scott.Maddux@unthsc.edu

 
Melissa Lewis New Photo Final Use This 819x1024 Melissa Lewis, PhD
ECDC Faculty Mentor
Population and Community Health/SPH
Melissa.Lewis@unthsc.edu
 
Powell,cynthia Cynthia Powell, MA, CHWC, IWLC
Personalized Health and Well-Being/SHP
Cynthia.Powell@unthsc.edu

 
Cherkos,ashenafi Ashenafi Cherkos, PhD
Biostatistics and Epidemiology/SPH
Ashenafi.Cherkos@unthsc.edu

 
Babalola,funto Funto Babalola, PharmD
Pharmacotherapy/HSCCP
Funto.Babalola@unthsc.edu

 
Eul Hyun Suh213x300 Eul “Christine” Suh, PhD
Pharmaceutical Sciences/HSCCP
Eul.Suh@unthsc.edu

 
Cunningham,mark Mark Cunningham, PhD, MBA
Physiology and Anatomy Researcher/SBS
Mark.Cunningham@unthsc.edu
Pinkal Patel Pinkal Patel, PhD
Postdoc Representative
Pharmacology and Neuroscience/SPH
Pinkal.Patel@unthsc.edu
Melissa Petersen Melissa Petersen, PhD
Family Medicine and Osteopathic Manipulative
Medicine Researcher/TCOM
 
 
Vacant
Postdoc Representative