Women’s History Month 2021

Students Arm In Arm Unt Health Science Center Web

As Women’s History Month draws to a close, HSC College of Pharmacy would like to recognize the immense contributions and significant gains women are making in the pharmacy profession.

According to a 2019 National Pharmacist Workforce Study, the pharmacy profession is female dominated, with women making up two-thirds of the workforce in 2019, compared to around 46% a decade prior.

“Our college population is in line with this study, with women comprising 68% of our faculty and staff and 62% of our student population,” Dean S. Suresh Madhavan said. “Our women colleagues are blazing a trail in this profession and in many other ways for our students, patients and community, and we are very proud of their many outstanding accomplishments and dedication.”

Women in the College of Pharmacy are leading the way in the pharmacy profession and industry to advance research, practice and innovation.

Here are some examples:

Donna Coyle, Director of Research, was awarded the college’s inaugural 2020 Outstanding Service Award, recognizing her contributions to the college’s success in extramural funding. Mrs. Coyle offers tremendous support to faculty and staff in advancing research projects and has elevated the awareness of the college’s research accomplishments through the Research Seminar Series.

Read more.

When Xiaowei Dong, PhD, discovered a novel nanotechnology, which may be the answer to a long-awaited solution to drug delivery issues related to water-insoluble compounds being investigated as oral drugs. Dr. Dong, Associate Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences, was awarded the Maximizing Investigators’ Resource Award (MIRA-R35) from the National Institutes of General Medical Sciences at the National Institutes of Health.

Read more.

Dr. Caitlin Gibson, Associate Professor and Vice Chair of Pharmacotherapy, is blazing a trail as a cardiology pharmacist and was recently appointed to a prestigious specialty post on the Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) Cardiology Pharmacy Specialty Council.

Read more.

Shante Hackworth, EdD, Senior Academic and Business Director, was selected as a 2020 Valubility of the Year recipient, recognized as a compassionate mentor and collaborator who inspires others to be good stewards of resources and to respect and serve others first.

Infectious diseases pharmacist, Dr. Crystal Howell, Assistant Professor of Pharmacotherapy, is working on the hospital frontlines, analyzing the best medications to save lives and educating us about COVID-19 vaccines. Dr. Howell was awarded the college’s inaugural 2020 Outstanding Teaching Award.

Dr. Jin Liu, Associate Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences, is researching ways to make the gene-editing device, CRISPR-CAS9, safer and more precise. This cutting-edge technology has the potential to one day cure many diseases, such as lymphoma, HIV and sickle cell disease.

Read more.

The future of pharmacy relies on the ability of pharmacists to lead and to innovate. Dr. Annesha White, Associate Dean and Associate Professor of Pharmacotherapy, is inspiring pharmacy students to think critically about pressing healthcare problems and find innovative solutions.

Read more.

A large number of veterans and military members experience eye trauma and potential vision loss due to service-related injuries. With the support of a research grant from the Department of Defense, researcher and Associate Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Dr. Hongli Wu, is on the cusp of developing a delivery agent to protect those ailments.

Read more.

Recent News

  • Our People
|Sep 29, 2023

Dr. Michael Clearfield the inaugural winner of the Beyer, Everett, and Luibel Memorial Medal

For more than two decades, Dr. Michael B. Clearfield, DO, MACOI, FACP, has developed the Department of Internal Medicine and Geriatrics at the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine into one of the largest and most productive academically in the osteopathic profession, serving as the chair from 1982-...
Kari Northeim 2 (002)[66]
  • Our People
|Sep 28, 2023

HSC’s Dr. Kari Northeim and Parker County collaborators awarded SAMHSA grant for rural EMS training and education

Dr. Kari Northeim, School of Public Health assistant professor of population and community health at The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth, has been awarded the SAMHSA Rural EMS Training and Education grant in conjunction with HSC community partners, Parker County Hospi...
Graci Finco
  • Research
|Sep 28, 2023

SBS researchers publish innovative study in Nature Scientific Reports 

People with leg amputations, including those with diabetes, run the risk of overuse injuries like osteoarthritis, muscle atrophy or bone breaks in their intact limbs.   Now, new research is quantifying the impacts of amputations and diabetes, a leading cause of amputation, on those overuse ...
Frank Filipetto Cropped For Social
  • On Campus
|Sep 28, 2023

HSC’s Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine to host symposium on ‘Creating Change in Health Care Delivery’

Americans have soured on the U.S. health care system, according to a Gallup poll taken earlier this year. Most of those surveyed rate health care quality as subpar, including 31% saying it is “only fair” and 21% — a new high — calling it “poor.” The U.S. ranked nearly last compared w...