Wilkie honored with 2009 Vision Award

Valleau Wilkie, Jr., executive vice president of the Sid W. Richardson Foundation, was honored with the University of North Texas Health Science Center’s Vision Award at the institution’s annual gala on Oct. 10. Wilkie was recognized for his unflagging support of the UNT Health Science Center, which has helped the institution accomplish many milestones, including:
• Fundraising for the Master’s of Public Health degree
• Community projects, including participating on the community committee that established the School of Public Health
• Bringing Dr. Richard Kurz to Fort Worth as the dean of the School of Public Health
The award was presented at the UNT Health Science Center’s "To Your Health: The Future is Now" gala which benefited the Health Science Center and celebrated the 10th anniversary of the institution’s School of Public Health.


Recent News

Techstars Demo Day.
  • On Campus
|Dec 1, 2022

Techstars Demo Day brings innovation to the historic stockyards

For the last 13 weeks, the founders of 10 of the world’s most innovative startups have been in Fort Worth perfecting their new physical health technology. They are part of the world’s first physical health accelerator, and now they are ready to show the fruits of their labor. Techstars Demo D...
Dr. Sid O'bryant Award
  • Our People
|Dec 1, 2022

HSC named the winner of the D Magazines 2022 Achievement in Medical Research Award

The extensive research done by Dr. Sid O’Bryant and his team at the Institute of Translational Research has earned the University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth the 2022 Medical Research Award by D Magazine. Dr. O’Bryant, the executive director of the ITR and a professor at t...
Dr. John Licciardone
  • Our People
|Nov 30, 2022

Key study results from HSC’s PRECISION Pain Research Registry published in JAMA Network Open

The Journal of the American Medical Association – Network Open has published findings from a recent HSC study about chronic lower back pain, race and the patient-physician relationship. The study revealed that Black patients reported worse outcomes for low back pain intensity and back-related d...
Ram flyer
  • Community
|Nov 23, 2022

Free pop-up medical, vision and dental clinic is just a week away

  The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth and Remote Area Medical – RAM® — a nonprofit provider of pop-up clinics that delivers free quality dental, vision and medical care to those in need — are bringing the free health care clinic to Dallas on Dec. 3 and 4....