August 11, 2003

The University of North Texas Health Science Center will welcome its newest class of students at the annual Convocation and White Coat Ceremony. The ceremony takes place Aug. 22 at 3 p.m. at the Will Rogers Memorial Auditorium in Fort Worth.

The White Coat ceremony is a rite of passage for students entering the academic health community. During the ceremony, students receive gifts signifying entry into their respective health professions. The incoming students are literally “coated” for the first time with a white coat to symbolize humanism and professional ethics in medicine.

This year, UNT Health Science Center welcomes 127 incoming medical students to the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine, 79 students of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, 28 new students in the Physician Assistant Studies Program and 126 in the School of Public Health.

M. Roy Schwarz, M.D., will serve as the keynote speaker at the ceremony. He is the president of the China Medical Board of New York, which supports medical, nursing and public health education and research. The board provides grants to institutions in east and southeast Asia to help recipients improve the health of their countries.

In addition to his role as president of the China Medical Board of New York, Dr. Schwarz holds faculty appointments at the University of California at San Diego School of Medicine and the University of Washington School of Medicine. Dr. Schwarz has received numerous honors and awards, including the First Distinguished Physician Award from the National Association of Practical Nurse Education and Service in 1996 and the 1989 the Surgeon General’s Medal of Achievement, which he received from Surgeon General C. Everett Koop, M.D. Dr. Schwarz earned his bachelor’s degree from Pacific Lutheran University and received his medical degree from the University of Washington School of Medicine.

During the ceremony, UNT Health Science Center will award the prestigious Founders’ Medal to L.L. LaRue, who served as its first fiscal officer in the late 1970s and early 1980s. The Founders’ Medal is the institution’s highest honor.


Hsc Tcom Gold Humanism Society Inductees Fc
TCOM Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society welcomes new inductees 

By Steven Bartolotta The humanistic side of medicine is alive and well at Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine. The TCOM Chapter of the Arnold P Gold Foundation inducted 45 students and four faculty members into the Gold Humanism Honor Society on the campus of The University of North Texas H...Read more

Jun 15, 2021

John Licciardone Hsc Fort Worth Fc
eHealth interventions could help African-American patients in battle with chronic pain

By Steven Bartolotta The PRECISION Pain Research Registry at the University of North Texas Health Science Center in Fort Worth has identified important racial disparities in pain management that became more evident during the COVID-19 pandemic. Its study recently published in the special COVID...Read more

Jun 14, 2021

Diana Cervantes. Assistant Professor Biostatistics & Epidemiology
Dr. Diana Cervantes named among Fort Worth’s ‘most influential’ for public health service during the pandemic

By Sally Crocker Dr. Diana Cervantes has spent the last year keeping people informed and updated on all things coronavirus, and now she’s being recognized as one of Fort Worth Inc.’s “400 Most Influential People” for helping protect the community’s health during the pandemic. Dr....Read more

Jun 8, 2021

Opal Lee photo by Rodger Mallison/Fort Worth Star-Telegram
Commemorating Juneteenth

By Diane Smith-Pinckney On June 19 1865, Major General Gordan Granger marched into Galveston with a critical message: “The people of Texas are informed that, in accordance with a Proclamation from the Executive of the United States, all slaves are free.”  This was the opening se...Read more

Jun 8, 2021