January 7, 2004

The University of North Texas Health Science Center Foundation added six new members to its Board of Directors.

The new members include John Gavin, president and chief executive officer for Wells Fargoâ??s Dallas /Fort Worth Community Banking market; Christopher Hull, DO, a 1979 graduate of the health science centerâ??s Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine and president of Fort Worth Orthopedic Surgery and Sports Medicine; Jack Jackson, plant manager of Miller Brewing Companyâ??s Fort Worth brewery; Rosie Moncrief, a community volunteer and business and property manager; George Pepper, former member of the UNT System Board of Regents and chair of the Family Service Inc. board; and Stanley Weiss, DO, an occupational medicine consultant and former health science center faculty member.

Daniel Saylak, DO, will also serve on the board during his one-year appointment as the president of the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine Alumni Association. He is a 1983 TCOM graduate and president of Central Texas Osteopathic Medical Associates in Bryan, Texas.

The new members join chair Robert Lansford, senior vice president for Bank One; Mark Baker, DO, a 1976 TCOM graduate and president of Westside Radiology Consultants; Robert Fernandez, president of Fernandez & Company CPAs; Mary Palko, a civic leader and head of Palmea Inc.; Elizabeth Palmarozzi, DO, a 1984 TCOM graduate and acting chair of family medicine at the health science center; Joe Thompson, senior vice president of Oncor; and Naresh Vashist, president of Omimex Energy.

â??We plan to continue expanding the breadth and expertise of this important and influential group of professionals,â? said Cheryl Kimberling, PhD, vice president for institutional advancement and executive director of the Foundation. â??These men and women are advocates of our mission, and they volunteer their time to help us raise the funds and the awareness that this institution must have to keep growing.â?


Hsc Tcom Gold Humanism Society Inductees Fc
TCOM Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society welcomes new inductees 

By Steven Bartolotta The humanistic side of medicine is alive and well at Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine. The TCOM Chapter of the Arnold P Gold Foundation inducted 45 students and four faculty members into the Gold Humanism Honor Society on the campus of The University of North Texas H...Read more

Jun 15, 2021

John Licciardone Hsc Fort Worth Fc
eHealth interventions could help African-American patients in battle with chronic pain

By Steven Bartolotta The PRECISION Pain Research Registry at the University of North Texas Health Science Center in Fort Worth has identified important racial disparities in pain management that became more evident during the COVID-19 pandemic. Its study recently published in the special COVID...Read more

Jun 14, 2021

Diana Cervantes. Assistant Professor Biostatistics & Epidemiology
Dr. Diana Cervantes named among Fort Worth’s ‘most influential’ for public health service during the pandemic

By Sally Crocker Dr. Diana Cervantes has spent the last year keeping people informed and updated on all things coronavirus, and now she’s being recognized as one of Fort Worth Inc.’s “400 Most Influential People” for helping protect the community’s health during the pandemic. Dr....Read more

Jun 8, 2021

Opal Lee photo by Rodger Mallison/Fort Worth Star-Telegram
Celebrating Juneteenth

By Diane Smith-Pinckney On June 19 1865, Major General Gordan Granger marched into Galveston with a critical message: “The people of Texas are informed that, in accordance with a Proclamation from the Executive of the United States, all slaves are free.”  This was the opening se...Read more

Jun 8, 2021