January 4, 2000

FORT WORTH – Texas – The distinction of Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges was awarded to 24 students from the four education components of the University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth.

Students were selected by campus nominating committees, which were comprised of administration, faculty and student body members. They were selected based on academic achievement, service to the community, leadership in extracurricular activities and potential for continued success.

These students join an elite group of students from more than 2,300 institutions of higher learning in all 50 states. “Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges” has been one of the most highly regarded, higher education honor programs since the annual directory was first published in 1934.

The Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine recipients (with hometowns) include:


  • Nicolle Rochina Marlene Benz — Plano, Texas
  • Roberto Cardarelli — San Francisco, California
  • Carl Gustav Chakmakjian — Dallas, Texas
  • Wilson Shihwei Chen — Berkeley, California
  • Steven Larry Cole — San Angelo, Texas
  • Adriena Venette Cothron — Fort Worth, Texas
  • Foy Edward Dark — Fort Worth, Texas
  • William Kevin Denton — Austin, Texas
  • Carolyn Dale Denton — Austin, Texas
  • Daniel Philip Gilday — Shohomish, Washington
  • Rose Marie Haisler — Hurst, Texas
  • Sandra Lee Hartline — San Antonio, Texas
  • Nicki Lyn Jones — Perryton, Texas
  • Wendy Alison Kindrick — Colleyville, Texas
  • Vipinder Kaur Mann — Houston, Texas
  • Matthew Wight Margolis — Sunland, California


The Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences recipients (with hometowns) include:


  • Bradley Joe Hart — Detroit, Texas
  • Jami RaDel Kern — Arlington, Texas
  • Nicolette Katrinka Meunter — Rochester, Minnesota
  • Karen Murray — Fort Worth, Texas


The School of Public Health recipients (with hometowns) include:


  • Charles B. W. Mego, III — Fort Worth, Texas
  • Jennifer Ann Reseck-Segall — Irving, Texas
  • Sony Sinha — Avenel, New Jersey


The Physician Assistant Studies recipient (with hometown) is:


  • Barbara Ann Slusher — Kemah, Texas


Diana Cervantes. Assistant Professor Biostatistics & Epidemiology
Dr. Diana Cervantes named among Fort Worth’s ‘most influential’ for public health service during the pandemic

By Sally Crocker Dr. Diana Cervantes has spent the last year keeping people informed and updated on all things coronavirus, and now she’s being recognized as one of Fort Worth Inc.’s “400 Most Influential People” for helping protect the community’s health during the pandemic. Dr....Read more

Jun 8, 2021

Opal Lee photo by Rodger Mallison/Fort Worth Star-Telegram
Celebrating Juneteenth

By Diane Smith-Pinckney On June 19 1865, Major General Gordan Granger marched into Galveston with a critical message: “The people of Texas are informed that, in accordance with a Proclamation from the Executive of the United States, all slaves are free.”  This was the opening se...Read more

Jun 8, 2021

Dr. Scott Walters
The realities of ‘breaking bad’ and how one HSC researcher is attacking the opioid crisis

By Sally Crocker He didn’t know it at the time, but when Dr. Scott Walters was growing up in San Diego in the mid 1980s, a next-door neighbor was concealing a homemade meth lab just across the fence and mere steps away from his bedroom window. For quite some time, concerned parents in his fa...Read more

Jun 8, 2021

MET Building at UNTHSC
HSC Health Diabetes Education Service Merits ADA Recognition

The prestigious American Diabetes Association (ADA) Education Recognition Certificate for a quality diabetes self-management education and support (DSMES) service was recently awarded to the HSC Health Diabetes Self-Management Education and Support Program. ADA believes that this service offers high...Read more

Jun 8, 2021