UNT Health physicians and TCOM alumni named ‘Top Docs’

Twenty UNT Health physicians and 28 Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine (TCOM) alumni were named Top Docs by Fort Worth, Texas magazine in the April 2010 edition. They were honored at a special reception on national Doctor’s Day, March 30, by the magazine.

Nearly 3,000 area members of the Texas Medical Association, the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association and the Tarrant County Medical Society were asked to name the best doctors in the area for the magazine’s poll.

UNT Health physicians named to Top Docs are:

  • Barbara Atkinson, DO, Infectious Disease
  • Brian Carpenter, DPM, Podiatry
  • Alan Garrett, DPM, Podiatry
  • Janice Knebl, DO, Geriatrics
  • Noushin Firouzbakht, MD, Obstetrics/Gynecology
  • Kathleen Crowley, MD, Women’s Medicine – Women’s Health
  • Kollier Hinkle, MD, Obstetrics/Gynecology
  • Alvin Mathe’, DO, Geriatrics and Palliative Care (TCOM ’89)
  • William McIntosh, DO, Neurology
  • Travis Motley, DPM, Podiatry
  • Arvind Nana, MD, Orthopedic Surgery
  • Carol Nati, MD, Psychiatry
  • Bernard Rubin, DO, Rheumatology
  • David Slife, DO, Cardiology
  • Monte Troutman, DO, Gastroenterology
  • DeEtte Vasques, DO, Gynecologic Oncology
  • Russell Wagner, MD, Orthopedic Surgery
  • Martin Weiss, DO, Cardiology
  • Scott Winter, MD, Psychiatry
  • Albert Yurvati, DO, Cardio-Thoracic/Vascular Surgery (TCOM ’86)

Other TCOM alumni who received this honor are:

  • Shahid Aziz, DO, Gastroenterology (TCOM ’86)
  • Carlos Bahrami, DO, Nephrology (TCOM ’99)
  • Chris Bajaj, DO, Endocrinology (TCOM ’00)
  • Kathleen Bajaj, DO, Anesthesiology (TCOM ’00)
  • David Barrera, DO, Oncology (TCOM ’93)
  • Pavani Bellary, DO, Internal Medicine (TCOM ’01)
  • Sherri Madden-Burke, DO, Pediatrics (TCOM ’89)
  • Cynthia English, DO, Obstetrics/Gynecology (TCOM ’03)
  • Scott Ewing, DO, Cardiology (TCOM ’01)
  • Gregory Friess, DO, Oncology (TCOM ’79)
  • Lisa Gardner, DO, Obstetrics/Gynecology (TCOM ’99)
  • Randall Hall, DO, Cardiology (TCOM ’93)
  • Charlece Hughes, DO, Neurology (TCOM ’00)
  • Peter Malouf, DO, Dermatology (TCOM ’95)
  • Niraj Mehta, DO, Internal Medicine (TCOM ’01)
  • Ray Page, DO, Oncology (TCOM ’91)
  • Tracy Papa, DO, Obstetrics/Gynecology (TCOM ’87)
  • Christopher Pratt, DO, General Family Practice (TCOM ’97)
  • Robert Ranelle, DO, Orthopedic Surgery (TCOM ’82)
  • Bibas Reddy, DO, Oncology (TCOM ’02)
  • Morvarid Rezaie, DO, Internal Medicine (TCOM ’06)
  • Jenica Rose-Stine, DO, Pediatrics (TCOM ’05)
  • Steven Simmons, DO, Interventional Pain (TCOM ’00)
  • Keith Vasenius, DO, Cardiology (TCOM ’86)
  • Terri Weinman, DO, Neonatology (TCOM ’87)
  • Ruth Wiley, DO, Obstetrics/Gynecology (TCOM ’04)

Recent News

Tarri Wyre
  • On Campus
|Sep 26, 2023

SaferCare Texas empowers Community Health Workers to complete HSC Mental Wellness microcredential

Tarri Wyre saw the growing need to expand her mental health education. The community health worker and ambulatory care manager for Memorial Hermann Health in Houston turned to the Mental Wellness microcredential, offered by The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth’s SaferC...
Dr. Teresa Wagner
  • On Campus
|Sep 25, 2023

Two HSC programs to host maternal health conference centered on fourth trimester

In the U.S., more than 20% of maternal deaths during pregnancy and the first year after childbirth are because of drug use, suicide or homicide, according to a study funded by the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. In the absence of access to mental...
Jessica Rangel
  • Our People
|Sep 25, 2023

This is Whole Health: Jessica Rangel

“Many years ago, I did a home visit on an older adult whom I had cared for numerous times in the emergency department. What I knew was that she suffered from a complicated medical situation and was not receiving optimal care with periodic emergency department visits. She always came by ambulance, ...
Ashenafi 768x768
  • Our People
|Sep 20, 2023

Dr. Ashenafi Cherkos awarded prestigious AIM-AHEAD Fellowship in Leadership

Dr. Ashenafi Cherkos, assistant professor at The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth, has been awarded the prestigious AIM-AHEAD Fellowship in Leadership for the Fall 2023 cohort. Cherkos serves in the School of Public Health’s Department of Population and Community Healt...