TCOM’s Dr. John Licciardone receives George W. Northup Medical Writing Award

By Steven Bartolotta

Dr. John LicciardoneDr. John Licciardone of the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine, Director of the Osteopathic Research Center and its PRECISION Pain Research Registry, is the 2021 recipient of the George W. Northup, DO, Medical Writing Award, the American Osteopathic Association has announced.

The award is based on the article, “Osteopathic Medical Care With and Without Osteopathic Manipulative Treatment in Patients with Chronic Low Back Pain: A Pain Registry-Based Study,” with Dr. Robert Gatchel as a co-author.

The article, which included 445 patients in the PRECISION Pain Research Registry, found that those treated by DOs who used OMT reported significantly lesser low back pain intensity and back-related disability and less frequent use of NSAIDs or opioids, than patients treated by MDs. However, there were no differences in such outcomes between DOs who did not use OMT and MDs.

Dr. Licciardone and his research team previously received the Northup Award in 2013 for a trilogy of articles based on the OSTEOPATHIC Trial that reported on somatic dysfunction, somatization, and inflammatory biomarkers in patients with chronic low back pain.

“I am pleased that the Osteopathic Research Center has continued to provide an evidence base for osteopathic medical care in the two decades since its establishment at the Health Science Center,”  Dr. Licciardone said. “The PRECISION Pain Research Registry now uses a digital research platform to more broadly study and seek solutions for chronic pain at a national level.”

Each year, the AOA recognizes individuals and organizations who have made significant contributions to the osteopathic medical profession through leadership, excellence, achievement, and dedication. Dr. Licciardone will be recognized at the upcoming AOA House of Delegates Annual Meeting on July 16.

The American Osteopathic Foundation honored Dr. Licciardone with its Gutensohn-Denslow Award for devoted lifetime service and contributions to research and education within the osteopathic profession in 2007.

Recent News

Ashenafi 768x768
  • Our People
|Sep 20, 2023

Dr. Ashenafi Cherkos awarded prestigious AIM-AHEAD Fellowship in Leadership

Dr. Ashenafi Cherkos, assistant professor at The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth, has been awarded the prestigious AIM-AHEAD Fellowship in Leadership for the Fall 2023 cohort. Cherkos serves in the School of Public Health’s Department of Population and Community Healt...
  • On Campus
|Sep 20, 2023

Innovate Fort Worth podcast: DJ Perera of New Age Media New Age Learning program

Innovate Fort Worth, the local podcast showcasing local innovation and its dynamic creators, recently featured DJ Perera, a trailblazing artist and educator. Hosted by Cameron Cushman of The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth, the podcast episode delves into the intersecti...
Darlene Watkins
  • On Campus
|Sep 20, 2023

HSC student advocates for falls prevention awareness in Tarrant County

Darlene Watkins has dedicated her life to creating healthier and sustainable communities. Her background in interdisciplinary design led her to work with various community organizations from Atlanta to California, but it was her passion for educating aging populations that fueled her desire to wo...
Glenn Forister
  • On Campus
|Sep 19, 2023

HSC’s School of Health Professions to host Health Professions Workforce Symposium

Modern medicine is a team sport, and roughly 60% of that team is composed of practitioners who exist outside of the doctor-nurse paradigm. These vital pillars make up the backbone of the $3 trillion health care sector, and they’re among the fastest-growing professions in the world. From 5 to 8 p....