TCOM’s Dr. Albert Yurvati receives prestigious Charles L. Ballinger Distinguished Osteopathic Surgeon Award

By Steven Bartolotta

Dr. Albert Yurvati

One of the most distinguished and decorated alumni in the history of the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine, Albert H. Olivencia-Yurvati, DO, PhD, FACOS, FICA FAHA, is the 2021 recipient of the Charles L. Ballinger Distinguished Osteopathic Surgeon Award from the American College of Osteopathic Surgeons.  

Dr. Yurvati, a 1986 graduate of TCOM, will receive the award virtually on Wednesday, Nov. 3. He is the only person in the history of ACOS to receive all three of their highest awards.  

“It is a real honor to receive this award that culminates my recognition by the ACOS,” said Dr. Yurvati. “I’ve have always strived represent TCOM in the best possible way and to receive all three of the highest awards from ACOS is something I will always be grateful for.” 

Dr. Yurvati received the Orel F. Martin Medal in 2013 and the Guy D. Beaumont Jr. FACOS Award of Academic Excellence in 2016. ACOS established awards to recognize members who have consistently demonstrated osteopathic surgical excellence throughout their careers. The award recognizes excellence in education, service, and exceptional contributions in the practice of osteopathic surgery.  

“Dr. Yurvati has meant so much to TCOM and osteopathic medicine, we are just so incredibly proud of his accomplishments and receiving this award,” said Dean of TCOM Dr. Frank Filipetto. “You won’t find a more dedicated person to his school or profession than Dr. Yurvati. We are very happy for him to be honored by ACOS.”  

Dr. Yurvati is currently the Dallas Southwest Osteopathic Physicians Professor of Surgery and TCOM’s Chair of Medical Education. In 2012, he pioneered a surgical breakthrough, the Xiphoid. He became the first surgeon in the world to identify the xiphoid process, a cartilage structure at the tip of the breastbone, as the source of mysterious pain for many patients, and to fix it.  

His passion for excellence has been recognized nationally and internationally, as well as at The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth (HSC), where he received the 2021 Mary Luibel Distinguished Alumni Award. He received the 2012 Clyde Gallehugh, DO. Memorial Award and the 2011 President’s Award for Clinical Excellence. 

He recently established Dr. Albert and Sharon Yurvati Scholarship, which is currently funding two DO/PhD students. The scholarship highlights how their commitment to train the next generation of clinical scientists.

Recent News

Ram flyer
  • Community
|Nov 23, 2022

Free pop-up medical, vision and dental clinic is just a week away

The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth and Remote Area Medical – RAM® — a nonprofit provider of pop-up clinics that delivers free quality dental, vision and medical care to those in need — are bringing the free health care clinic to Dallas on Dec. 3 and 4. After th...
Mathis, Borjas, Luna Smith Hsc Teaching Chair
  • Community
|Nov 18, 2022

HSC partners with Fort Worth ISD to honor outstanding science teacher 

The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth is committed to supporting science and health education for students at all levels of their academic journeys.  Since last year, HSC has sponsored Fort Worth Independent School District’s Chair for Teaching Excellence in Seconda...
Dr. Sid O'Bryant
  • Research
|Nov 14, 2022

Key study results from HSC’s Institute for Translational Research published in the Journal of Alzheimer’s Disease

Findings from a recent study by the team at the Institute for Translational Research led by Dr. Sid O’Bryant at The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth have been published by the Journal of Alzheimer’s Disease. The article, “Characterization of Mild Cognitive Impairme...
John Mulstad
  • Our People
|Nov 11, 2022

Recognizing veterans in HSC’s School of Health Professions

Today, and every day, we are proud to recognize the faculty, staff and students of the School of Health Professions who have answered the selfless call to serve as health care providers and in their country's military. We commend and celebrate the patriotism, sacrifices and selfless service of al...