TCOM Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society Welcomes new inductees

Humanism BadgeThe humanistic side of medicine is flourishing at the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine at the University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth. The TCOM Chapter of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation inducted 35 students and three faculty members into the Gold Humanism Honor Society during a recent ceremony at the Fort Worth Botanical Gardens.

The students, all members of the Class of 2024, were chosen for their outstanding humanistic behaviors shown during medical school. The students ranked in the top 15% of their class and were nominated by their peers.

“I want you all to remember this day, because of all the awards that you might receive, this one will mean the most,” said Dr. Frank Filipetto, Dean of TCOM. “Being part of this honor society will stay with you forever. Remember that we are all here for our patients. Show them compassion and empathy and what humanism looks like. Be mentors for the next generation of medical students. Help them learn what you have earned here today and make osteopathic medicine even better.”

Along with the students, TCOM Faculty members Dr. Sarah Matches, Dr. Maria Crompton and Dr. Miguel Villamil were inducted into the honor society.

Gold Humanism InducteesThe Gold Foundation champions humanism in health care, which they define as “compassionate, collaborative and scientifically excellent care.” The non-profit organization at TCOM was founded for recognizing students, residents and faculty who are exemplars of compassionate patient care and who serve as role models, mentors and leaders in medicine.

Dr. Arnold P. Gold, a pediatric neurologist, began the foundation in 1988. His belief in the importance of an empathic bedside manner led him and his wife Sandra to create the foundation to inspire young physicians to practice compassionate patient care.

TCOM Student Inductees

Affan Ahmed
Sarah Andrade
Callie Angell
Joshua Baker
Dallen Broadbent
Jack Burrows
Zachary Capps
Samita Charolia
Saanji Desai
Anelise Diener
Ashlyn Fairchild
Alexander Frangenberg
Callie Frank
Hailey Gaige
Leah Goehring
Lillian Gowen
Mira Ibrahim
Prathima Kandukuri
Ashlyn Kinard
Nehel Kurjee
Hoang Ngo
Khanh Nguyen
Ramyashree Nyalakonda
Salma Omar
Abbey Pastorelle
Sarah Ratliff
Madelyn Richards
Abigail Rodgers
Samantha Skipton
Danielle Smith
Ashley Steele
Tyler Thornton
Samantha Walczak
Joshua Worley
Bobin Xu

TCOM Faculty Inductees
Dr. Sarah Matches
Dr. Maria Crompton
Dr. Miguel Villamil

Recent News

One pill kills graphic
  • On Campus
|Oct 2, 2023

HSC launches One Pill Kills Campaign to combat fentanyl

A synthetic opioid that’s considered exponentially more addictive than heroin, fentanyl is now the leading cause of death for Americans ages 18 to 49. It can be fatal to ingest even a tiny amount, so small it could fit on a pencil eraser. In the face of the deadliest epidemic in the history o...
  • Our People
|Sep 29, 2023

Dr. Michael Clearfield the inaugural winner of the Beyer, Everett, and Luibel Memorial Medal

For more than two decades, Dr. Michael B. Clearfield, DO, MACOI, FACP, has developed the Department of Internal Medicine and Geriatrics at the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine into one of the largest and most productive academically in the osteopathic profession, serving as the chair from 1982-...
Kari Northeim 2 (002)[66]
  • Our People
|Sep 28, 2023

HSC’s Dr. Kari Northeim and Parker County collaborators awarded SAMHSA grant for rural EMS training and education

Dr. Kari Northeim, School of Public Health assistant professor of population and community health at The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth, has been awarded the SAMHSA Rural EMS Training and Education grant in conjunction with HSC community partners, Parker County Hospi...
Graci Finco
  • Research
|Sep 28, 2023

SBS researchers publish innovative study in Nature Scientific Reports 

People with leg amputations, including those with diabetes, run the risk of overuse injuries like osteoarthritis, muscle atrophy or bone breaks in their intact limbs.   Now, new research is quantifying the impacts of amputations and diabetes, a leading cause of amputation, on those overuse ...