TCOM Announces the Creation of the Dr. Edward E. Elko Scholarship

by Steven Bartolotta

50 Heros Dr Edward Elko WebHonoring one of the legendary figures in its history, the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine has announced the creation of the Dr. Edward E. Elko Endowed Scholarship. Dr. Elko, whose career at TCOM spanned more than 20 years in both faculty and administrative roles, retired in 1996.  

With a focus on academic excellence, community and volunteer service, Dr. Elko and his family established this scholarship to coincide with the celebration of Dr. Elko’s 90th birthday on July 1.  

“I am so thankful to Dr. Elko and his family for this generous donation to TCOM that will help our students carry on his legacy,” TCOM Dean Dr. Frank Filipetto said. “He mentored countless TCOM students for over two decades and his impact is engrained on medical education here. Dr. Elko is forever part of TCOM’s history.”  

Dr. Elko began his career at TCOM as a guest lecturer until 1978, when he was hired full-time and joined the faculty in Pharmacology. While on faculty, he was awarded the M. L. Coleman Pre-Clinical Professor of the Year Award for 1988-89. 

In addition to his work as a faculty member, he served as Associate Dean for Basic Sciences from 1981-1986 and Associate Dean for Student Affairs from 1989-1996. 

Though Dr. Elko retired in 1996, his name continues to play an integral role in medical education at the HSC. Each year, a group of TCOM students is placed in Elko College, one of six Advisory Colleges that are mentoring networks and serve as a learning community for students, as well as promote greater interaction between faculty and students. 

Upon retirement, Dr. Elko was awarded the rank of Professor Emeritus and, the following year, received the Mary E. Luibel Distinguished Service Award. 

TCOM students can begin to apply for the scholarship in fall of 2022. To be eligible, students must be entering their third-year, in the top quartile of their class, and show a demonstrated record of community or volunteer service — or commitment to serving others.   

To donate to Dr. Elko’s scholarship, please visit

Recent News

Tarri Wyre
  • On Campus
|Sep 26, 2023

SaferCare Texas empowers Community Health Workers to complete HSC Mental Wellness microcredential

Tarri Wyre saw the growing need to expand her mental health education. The community health worker and ambulatory care manager for Memorial Hermann Health in Houston turned to the Mental Wellness microcredential, offered by The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth’s SaferC...
Dr. Teresa Wagner
  • On Campus
|Sep 25, 2023

Two HSC programs to host maternal health conference centered on fourth trimester

In the U.S., more than 20% of maternal deaths during pregnancy and the first year after childbirth are because of drug use, suicide or homicide, according to a study funded by the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. In the absence of access to mental...
Jessica Rangel
  • Our People
|Sep 25, 2023

This is Whole Health: Jessica Rangel

“Many years ago, I did a home visit on an older adult whom I had cared for numerous times in the emergency department. What I knew was that she suffered from a complicated medical situation and was not receiving optimal care with periodic emergency department visits. She always came by ambulance, ...
Ashenafi 768x768
  • Our People
|Sep 20, 2023

Dr. Ashenafi Cherkos awarded prestigious AIM-AHEAD Fellowship in Leadership

Dr. Ashenafi Cherkos, assistant professor at The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth, has been awarded the prestigious AIM-AHEAD Fellowship in Leadership for the Fall 2023 cohort. Cherkos serves in the School of Public Health’s Department of Population and Community Healt...