Shambayati named ‘Student of the Year’

Maryam Shambayati, TCOM ’12, was recently named Student of the Year by the Texas Medical Association (TMA) Medical Student Section. The recipient for this award is chosen each year by the TMA Medical Student Section council after students from every medical school in Texas submit nominations.

TCOM students nominated Shambayati for her involvement in different organizations. Last year she was elected to serve as the TCOM American Medical Association (AMA) delegate. In that position, she helped educate the student body about the current health care debate. Each semester she hosted seminars on health care reform and ran student caucuses to collect the students’ opinions on resolutions before each AMA conference. 

Shambayati testified on multiple resolutions, including one that opened up the Visiting Student Application Service to osteopathic students. This service, which was only available to allopathic medical students in the past, gives students across the U.S. access to an online database and application for their fourth-year rotation selections. Her testimony helped get this resolution passed and become an official AMA policy.

"I feel honored to be named Student of the Year," Shambayati said. "I hope this inspires other students to become more involved in health-care policy. There is so much more to medicine than what is learned in the classroom."

Recent News

One pill kills graphic
  • On Campus
|Oct 2, 2023

HSC launches One Pill Kills Campaign to combat fentanyl

A synthetic opioid that’s considered exponentially more addictive than heroin, fentanyl is now the leading cause of death for Americans ages 18 to 49. It can be fatal to ingest even a tiny amount, so small it could fit on a pencil eraser. In the face of the deadliest epidemic in the history o...
  • Our People
|Sep 29, 2023

Dr. Michael Clearfield the inaugural winner of the Beyer, Everett, and Luibel Memorial Medal

For more than two decades, Dr. Michael B. Clearfield, DO, MACOI, FACP, has developed the Department of Internal Medicine and Geriatrics at the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine into one of the largest and most productive academically in the osteopathic profession, serving as the chair from 1982-...
Kari Northeim 2 (002)[66]
  • Our People
|Sep 28, 2023

HSC’s Dr. Kari Northeim and Parker County collaborators awarded SAMHSA grant for rural EMS training and education

Dr. Kari Northeim, School of Public Health assistant professor of population and community health at The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth, has been awarded the SAMHSA Rural EMS Training and Education grant in conjunction with HSC community partners, Parker County Hospi...
Graci Finco
  • Research
|Sep 28, 2023

SBS researchers publish innovative study in Nature Scientific Reports 

People with leg amputations, including those with diabetes, run the risk of overuse injuries like osteoarthritis, muscle atrophy or bone breaks in their intact limbs.   Now, new research is quantifying the impacts of amputations and diabetes, a leading cause of amputation, on those overuse ...