School of Public Health honors graduates

School of Public Health graduates were honored at their banquet at the Hilton Fort Worth. Over 50 awards were given at this yearâ??s banquetâ?¦ two of them for the first time.

  One of the new awards is the Fernando Trevino, PhD, MPH, Leadership Award. It was presented to Joseph Rodriguez for professionalism, leadership, integrity and fostering a positive public health image. As president of the Public Health Student Association, Joseph was instrumental in helping develop a three-year course matrix that made it easier for students to plan their coursework. He also took a leadership role during the CEPH accreditation when the student representatives met with the site team. Joseph was selected for this award by Dr. Fernando Trevino, former dean of the School of Public Health.

  The second new award â?? The Phoenick’s Award â?? recognized Merly Mathew for overcoming adversity. She completed her masterâ??s degree despite losing her mother to cancer. The award was presented by Diane Wynn, director of SPH student and academic services, and her son Nick, for whom the award is named. The award was created by Diane in honor of her first year as a cancer survivor.

  Other awards presented at the ceremony included:

  Heather Tasa  – Kenneth H. Cooper, MD, MPH, Research Award for excellence and quality in the application of research methods

  Ashley Garrett – Leon Brachman Community Service Award for academic excellence leadership and community service

  Joyce Hood and Dr. Deepak Prabhakar – Bob J. Crow Outstanding MPH Graduate Award for those who best exemplify the caliber of graduate for which the masterâ??s program at the School of Public Health wants to be known

  Kimberly Fulda – Outstanding DrPH Graduate Award for the student who best exemplifies the caliber of graduate for which the doctoral program at the School of Public Health wants to be known

  Joseph Rodriguez – Fernando Trevino, PhD, MPH, Leadership Award for the student who exhibits leadership initiative by upholding the principles of professionalism and integrity, fostering a positive public health image and demonstrating a commitment to community service

  Merly Mathew – Phoenickâ??s Award for the student who exhibits extraordinary resilience, an enthusiasm for life despite its challenges, strength of character and determination in achieving academic goals

      Public Health Student Association Awards

  Dr. Kathryn Cardarelli – Outstanding Public Health Faculty Award

Dr. Martha Felini – Outstanding Public Health Advisor Award

Hazel Dueboay – Outstanding Public Health Staff Member Award

Kelly Ylitalo – Outstanding Public Health Student Award

Nicki McGee – Outstanding Service to the Public Health Student Association Awards

Marcus Mitias – Outstanding Contributions to Public Health Week 2007

      Outstanding Students by Department

  Dr. William Germann – Biostatistics â?? MPH

Harrison Ndetan – Biostatistics â?? MPH

Kimberly Fulda – Biostatistics â?? DrPH

Joyce Hood – Environmental & Occupational Health â?? MPH

Lori Rodríguez – Epidemiology â?? MPH

Rohit Ojha – Epidemiology â?? DrPH

Andrea Lorden – Health Management & Policy â?? MPH

Jaime Gonzalez – Health Management & Policy â?? DrPH  

     Lada Alexeenko – Social & Behavioral Sciences â?? MPH

Martha Montiel Carbajal – Social & Behavioral Sciences â?? DrPH

                                                 Dean’s List MPH

  Elizabeth Adcock – Health Management & Policy

Shimona Bhatia – Community Health

Ashley Garrett – Community Health

Dr. William Germann – Biostatistics

Valerie Lynn Harris – Epidemiology

Rachael Jackson – Community Health

Margaret Lonappan – Biostatistics

Yan Lu – Clinical Research

Donna Rodríguez – Community Health

Lori Ann Rodríguez – Epidemiology

Douglas Segars – Community Health

Tanushree Tomer – Biostatistics

      Dean’s List DrPH

  Kimberly Fulda – Clinical Research

Anita Kurian – Clinical Research

Dr. Larry Seagars – Disease Prevention & Control

      Delta Omega Inductees

  Dr. Claudia Coggin – Faculty – Social & Behavioral Sciences

Dr. Sejong Bae – Faculty – Biostatistics

Dr. Ximena Urrutia-Rojas â?? Faculty – Social & Behavioral Sciences

Anisa Dhanani – Spring 2007 MPH Graduate – Community Health

Merly Mathew – Spring 2007 MPH Graduate – Community Health

Shimona Bhatia – Spring 2007 MPH Graduate – Community Health

Ashley Garrett – Spring 2007 MPH Graduate – Community Health

Brandie Williams – Spring 2007 MPH Graduate – Community Health

Rachael Jackson – Current MPH Student – Community Health

Margaret Lonnapan – Current MPH Student – Biostatistics

Andrea Lorden – Current MPH Student – Health Management & Policy

Nikita Phillips – Current DrPH Student – Social & Behavioral Sciences

Recent News

Scott Walters
  • Our People
|Dec 7, 2022

Through NIH HEAL Initiative, Dr. Scott Walters and colleagues accelerate fight against the nation’s opioid crisis

Four years ago, the National Institutes of Health introduced the unprecedented HEAL Initiative to address the nation’s public health crisis of opioid misuse, addiction and overdose. More than $2 billion has been invested in 1,000 research projects to date, spanning basic and clinical research ...
Wellest Team
  • On Campus
|Dec 6, 2022

Wellest Inc. founder Dave Sekowski partners with HSC faculty through Techstars program

For Dave Sekowski, founder and CEO of Wellest Inc., the road to wellness has not been easy. Growing up with limited access to healthy food and education about health and nutrition, he struggled with childhood obesity. “I had to take it upon myself to figure it out,” Sekowski said. “I joined...
IHI Banner
  • Patient Care
|Dec 6, 2022

TCOM leadership presents patient safety course to 2022 IHI forum

The Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine’s innovative patient safety course and how to incorporate it into an academic curriculum was on display at the 2022 Institute for Healthcare Improvement Forum in Orlando, Florida.  Frank Filipetto, DO, CPPS, FACOFP, dean of TCOM, and Lillee Gelinas DNP...
Stephanie Ibekwe
  • Our People
|Dec 5, 2022

A voice for women in medicine

When Dr. Stephanie Ibekwe’s mother, Sarah, came home from her nursing job, she would tell her daughter stories about her patients and the conversations she had with them. “Nursing is pretty stressful, but my mom had an amazing way of handling things,” she said. “My mom really loved to bui...