Physician Assistant Studies Program presents 14 awards

The Physician Assistant Studies Program presented 14 awards to students and faculty at their graduation dinner at the Petroleum Club of Fort Worth.

  The Presidentâ??s Scholar Award was presented to Rachel Miller, the highest academic honor given by the program. The award is given for high overall academic achievement, excellence in research, excellence in clinical rotations, participation and leadership in student activities, and demonstrated commitment to the profession.  President Scott Ransom presented the award.

  Jany Rorick made such an impact on the faculty and her fellow students that they created an award just for her. She received the Heart of Compassion Award for â??extraordinary offerings of goodwill, generosity and consideration.â? Janie was known around campus for her volunteer efforts such as collecting clothes and shoes for victims of accidents or illness at local hospitals, and collecting care packages for Hurricane Katrina victims.

  Other awards presented at the ceremony included:

  Rachel A. Miller- President’s Scholar Award

  Britni R. McBryde – Outstanding Achievement – Didactic Studies

  Suzanne M. Melville – Outstanding Achievement – Clinical Studies

  Michael S. Nye and Roxanne M. Simper – Masterâ??s Project Excellence Award for â??Physical and Physiological Changes Observed Following the Lap-Band Surgical Procedure.â?

  Rachel A. Miller – Masterâ??s Project Excellence Award for â??A Proposed Interactive Educational Program Aimed to Encourage Pregnant Adolescents to Include Folate in Their Daily Diets.â?

  Laura A. Gonzales and Suzanne M. Melville – Masterâ??s Project Excellence Award for â??The Degree of Success of Lap Band Recipients Based on Objective and Subjective Data.â?

  Jennifer D. Erwin and Sarah C. McClendon – Masterâ??s Project Excellence Award for â??A Prevention Program to Improve Recognition of the Characteristics and Problems Associated With Childhood Obesity.â?

  Britni R. McBryde – Outstanding Masterâ??s Project for â??How Knowledge of Medication Regimens Influences Compliance in an Ambulatory Geriatric Population Taking Multiple Medications.â?

  Mary Jane Rorick – Heart of Compassion Award
PA Jim Roch – Outstanding Faculty Award

  Dr. Sam W. Buchanan – Outstanding Clinical Faculty of the Year 

Recent News

Jennifer Fix 2 Purple
  • Education
|Jun 18, 2024

Pharmacy technician shortage driving force behind new, online prep course

A self-paced, online Pharmacy Technician Preparation Course is now being offered through The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth as a way to help combat the shortage of pharmacy technicians at hospitals, health systems and retail pharmacies. Recognized by the Pharmacy Tech...
7281bfad 8597 4cef 80de B58ea8a26ab5
  • Community
|Jun 10, 2024

North Texas Asthma Summit to improve asthma outcomes for children

Representatives from 10 North Texas organizations will come together Wednesday with one common goal in mind: improving health outcomes for children with poorly controlled asthma. The goal of the North Texas Asthma Summit is to develop community partnerships to help these children who frequently e...
Dobbs Headshot
  • Our People
|Jun 7, 2024

School of Health Professions welcomes three new staff members

The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth’s School of Health Professions is excited to announce three new staff members in the dean’s office. Christa Lo, DHSc, MPAS, PA-C, joins SHP as associate dean. In her role, she will assist in overseeing the school’s academic...
  • Our People
|Jun 6, 2024

TCOM Alumnus Dr. Frederick White receives the Gold Medal Award for Distinguished Service from the AOCR

In recognition of his outstanding leadership, dedication and service, Frederick E. White, DO, FAOCR, a 1977 graduate from the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine at The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth, was selected as the recipient of the American Osteopathic College ...