Pennsylvania State University’s College of Medicine Department of Anesthesia Award Honors Hahn

The Pennsylvania State Universityâ??s College of Medicine Department of Anesthesia has created a new fellowship award to honor Marc B. Hahn, DO, dean of the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine. The award â?? the Dr. Marc B. Hahn Pain Medicine Fellowship Award â?? was created to honor the achievements and contributions of Dr. Hahn in the field of pain management.

â??I am both honored and humbled that Penn State would name this award after me,â? Dr. Hahn said. â??I have committed myself to teaching future pain medicine physicians to hold themselves to the highest ethical standards when treating patients suffering from pain. Hopefully, this award will further that goal, improving pain medicine education and care.â?

Dr. Hahn was formerly a professor of anesthesiology and director of the Pain Medicine Fellowship Program at the Pennsylvania State Universityâ??s College of Medicine. He also served as chief of the Pain Medicine and Palliative Care Division at the Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center.

â??As the fellowship director, Dr. Hahn was one of the pioneers recognizing the importance of fluoroscopic guidance in interventional pain management,â? said Vitaly Gordin, MD, current program director. â??While being a skillful interventionalist, Dr. Hahn has always emphasized the importance of a multi-disciplinary approach to the treatment of chronic pain patients â?¦. Dr. Hahnâ??s national reputation has attracted some of the best young physicians in the country who wanted to learn the trade from one of the best in the field.â?

The award will be presented annually to one fellow at PSUCOMâ??s Pain Medicine program who shows excellence in patient care and academic performance and who demonstrates mentoring skills for residents and medical students. The award winner will be selected by the faculty of the pain division at Penn State.

Robert Overbaugh, M.D., one of three anesthesiology fellows and a former student of Hahnâ??s, recently received the first Dr. Marc B. Hahn Pain Medicine Fellowship Award. For Dr. Overbaugh, the award holds special meaning. He was a student of Dr. Hahnâ??s in the 1990s when pain medicine was still in its infancy as a specialty. Dr. Hahn introduced Dr. Overbaugh to the fieldâ??s dual nature, which allows a physician to address acute patient needs while also following their long-term care. He said while working with residents and medical students, he tries to mimic the teaching model Dr. Hahn displayed while at the College of Medicine.

â??He was patient and took a lot of time with students, which isnâ??t always the norm for a busy specialist,â? Dr. Overbaugh said. â??He wasnâ??t overbearing in laying down exactly how to do something, and he encouraged us to develop our own techniques with gentle guiding when we needed it.â?

Dr. Overbaugh finishes his fellowship this month and will join Pain Specialists of the Greater Lehigh Valley at Lehigh Valley Hospital in July.


Contact:Lauren LaFleur 817-735-5152, e-mail 

Recent News

Tarri Wyre
  • On Campus
|Sep 26, 2023

SaferCare Texas empowers Community Health Workers to complete HSC Mental Wellness microcredential

Tarri Wyre saw the growing need to expand her mental health education. The community health worker and ambulatory care manager for Memorial Hermann Health in Houston turned to the Mental Wellness microcredential, offered by The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth’s SaferC...
Dr. Teresa Wagner
  • On Campus
|Sep 25, 2023

Two HSC programs to host maternal health conference centered on fourth trimester

In the U.S., more than 20% of maternal deaths during pregnancy and the first year after childbirth are because of drug use, suicide or homicide, according to a study funded by the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. In the absence of access to mental...
Jessica Rangel
  • Our People
|Sep 25, 2023

This is Whole Health: Jessica Rangel

“Many years ago, I did a home visit on an older adult whom I had cared for numerous times in the emergency department. What I knew was that she suffered from a complicated medical situation and was not receiving optimal care with periodic emergency department visits. She always came by ambulance, ...
Ashenafi 768x768
  • Our People
|Sep 20, 2023

Dr. Ashenafi Cherkos awarded prestigious AIM-AHEAD Fellowship in Leadership

Dr. Ashenafi Cherkos, assistant professor at The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth, has been awarded the prestigious AIM-AHEAD Fellowship in Leadership for the Fall 2023 cohort. Cherkos serves in the School of Public Health’s Department of Population and Community Healt...