New awards honor outstanding junior faculty, student in College of Pharmacy

Dr. Elaine Jacobson, Dr. Tina Machu, Dr. Katura Bullock, Dr. Andrew J. Weis, Dr. Myron Jacobson.


New awards have been established in the UNT System College of Pharmacy to honor an outstanding junior faculty member and an outstanding student.

The awards are privately funded by Andrew J. Weis, PharmD, a senior executive with Cumberland Pharmaceuticals and an adjunct professor in the College of Pharmacy.

Katura Bullock, PharmD, BCPS, received the inaugural M.E.T. Award for Outstanding Junior Faculty Achievement. Dr. Bullock was selected for her leadership in curriculum development for the College, as well as her excellence as a preceptor and educator.

The awards were announced at a special ceremony marking the transition of Class of 2017 Pharmacy students from the classroom to a final program year committed to advanced clinical practice experiences

Dr. Weis noted in comments made to the gathering that the award was created as “an expression of admiration for the UNT System College of Pharmacy and to recognize the career achievements and leadership contributions of Founding Dean Dr. Myron Jacobson, Dr. Elaine Jacobson and Dr. Tina Machu.”  Dr. Weis chose the award’s M.E.T. prefix as a way to recognize the three leaders by selecting the first letters of their first names.

While the inaugural junior faculty award was announced at the May13 celebration, the first student award will be presented to a Class of 2017 member next spring in conjunction with graduation.

Dr. Weis and his family have a long and distinguished association with the pharmacy profession. Ancestors of Dr. Weis established pharmacy practices in Bavaria, the Netherlands and Scotland beginning in the mid-17th Century.  This family tradition remains strong as Dr. Weis’s parents and brother are also career pharmacists.

Pictured left to right: Dr. Elaine Jacobson, Dr. Tina Machu, Dr. Katura Bullock, Dr. Andrew J. Weis, Dr. Myron Jacobson.

Recent News

Stephanie Ibekwe
  • Our People
|Dec 5, 2022

A voice for women in medicine

When Dr. Stephanie Ibekwe’s mother, Sarah, came home from her nursing job, she would tell her daughter stories about her patients and the conversations she had with them. “Nursing is pretty stressful, but my mom had an amazing way of handling things,” she said. “My mom really loved to bui...
Noah Peeri Headshot
  • Our People
|Dec 5, 2022

SPH alum Dr. Noah Peeri achieves JAMA Oncology publication just months after graduation

Noah Peeri, Ph.D., MPH, a recent graduate of The University of North Texas Health Science Center’s School of Public Health, has achieved a major milestone by publishing an article in the Journal of the American Medical Association Oncology just months after completing his graduate degree.   H...
Techstars Demo Day.
  • On Campus
|Dec 1, 2022

Techstars Demo Day brings innovation to the historic stockyards

For the last 13 weeks, the founders of 10 of the world’s most innovative startups have been in Fort Worth perfecting their new physical health technology. They are part of the world’s first physical health accelerator, and now they are ready to show the fruits of their labor. Techstars Demo D...
Dr. Sid O'bryant Award
  • Our People
|Dec 1, 2022

HSC named the winner of the D Magazines 2022 Achievement in Medical Research Award

The extensive research done by Dr. Sid O’Bryant and his team at the Institute of Translational Research has earned the University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth the 2022 Medical Research Award by D Magazine. Dr. O’Bryant, the executive director of the ITR and a professor at t...