Linda Cunningham named Outstanding Woman of the Year

Linda Cunningham, M.D., associate professor of pathology and human identification, was named Outstanding Woman of the Year in by the Fort Worth/Tarrant County Minority Leaders and Citizens Council.

Dr. Cunningham presented the Hattitude: Hats Off to Women 2007 keynote address, â??A Mile in Her Shoes,â? at the kickoff celebration of Womenâ??s History Month.

Dr. Cunningham has been a physician for 25 years and has worked to to increase the number of disadvantaged and underrepresented minorities in educational opportunities, health careers and medical school. She has also participated in several civic activities, including support for scholarships, adoption, learning differences and breast cancer awareness.

Dr. Cunningham was also presented a Proclamation of Honor from the Health Science Center at the event.

Eleven other women were recognized at the event for their community leadership and service. One of them was Marian Eastman, a retiree of UNTHSCâ??s Department of Molecular Biology and Immunology and co-founder of Fort Worthâ??s Jubilee Theatre with her late husband, Rudy Eastman.

Health Science Center employees who served on the eventâ??s planning committee include Betty Belton, Cynthia Booker, Liz Davis, Jackie Hubbard, Stella Fair, Katie Flemming-Ford, Opal McIntosh and Ywanda Kimbrough. 

Recent News

7281bfad 8597 4cef 80de B58ea8a26ab5
  • Community
|Jun 10, 2024

North Texas Asthma Summit to improve asthma outcomes for children

Representatives from 10 North Texas organizations will come together Wednesday with one common goal in mind: improving health outcomes for children with poorly controlled asthma. The goal of the North Texas Asthma Summit is to develop community partnerships to help these children who frequently e...
Dobbs Headshot
  • Our People
|Jun 7, 2024

School of Health Professions welcomes three new staff members

The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth’s School of Health Professions is excited to announce three new staff members in the dean’s office. Christa Lo, DHSc, MPAS, PA-C, joins SHP as associate dean. In her role, she will assist in overseeing the school’s academic...
  • Our People
|Jun 6, 2024

TCOM Alumnus Dr. Frederick White receives the Gold Medal Award for Distinguished Service from the AOCR

In recognition of his outstanding leadership, dedication and service, Frederick E. White, DO, FAOCR, a 1977 graduate from the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine at The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth, was selected as the recipient of the American Osteopathic College ...
Hampton 5
  • On Campus
|Jun 5, 2024

Hampton University representatives visit HSC to build partnerships

A delegation of five representatives from Hampton University visited The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth’s campus on Friday. Hampton University is a private, historically Black university founded in 1868 in Hampton, Virginia. The group included President of Ham...