Honoring TCOM’s past and future


By Alex Branch

Filipetto family at White Coat Ceremony


On the day that Frank Filipetto, DO, was honored for his service to medical education, his daughter took a first step toward her own career in medicine.

Dr. Filipetto was recognized as the first holder of the Carl E. Everett Associate Professor of Family Medicine on Saturday, July 16, during the UNT Health Science Center White Coat Ceremony.

Then he and his wife, Dr. Janet Lieto, also a UNTHC faculty member, cloaked their oldest daughter, Francesca, in a white coat as a first-year medical student at the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine.

“We are certainly proud — and a bit emotional,” said Dr. Filipetto, Senior Associate Dean of Academic Affairs in TCOM.

Francesca was among 230 first-year medical students who received white coats during the rite of passage ceremony meant to symbolize the professional obligations students are undertaking on their journeys to become physicians. Students in the School of Health Professions and College of Pharmacy will receive their white coats in a ceremony on Aug. 13.

That Dr. Filipetto and Francesca shared the day is fitting. In 2011, when Dr. Filipetto and his wife were both offered positions at UNTHSC, they promised Francesca not to uproot her and her younger sister, Gianna, against her wishes from New Jersey, where she was born and raised.

After all, Francesca was about to begin her senior year in high school.

“We took a visit to Fort Worth and she saw something she liked in the community,” Dr. Filipetto said. “We got home and soon she told us she was ready to move to Texas. It was her decision.”

The endowed Carl E. Everett Associate Professor of Family Medicine was established to honor the service and philanthropic support of Dr. Carl E. Everett, one of the three founders of TCOM.

As Associate Dean, Dr. Filipetto provides leadership to ensure that the highest quality of education is delivered to medical students. He has received close to $10 million in grant funding primarily focused on undergraduate and post graduate primary care education.

“Dr. Filipetto has exemplified academic leadership,” said Don N. Peska, DO. Dean of TCOM. “He has provided genuine mentorship to our students and faculty and raised the esteem to which the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine is held in the community.”

Dr. Filipetto is thankful to the Health Science Center and the Everett family for the professorship and said, “The Everett legacy lives on within the thousands of TCOM graduates and students who every day are creating solutions for a healthier community.”

Recent News

Stephanie Ibekwe
  • Our People
|Dec 5, 2022

A voice for women in medicine

When Dr. Stephanie Ibekwe’s mother, Sarah, came home from her nursing job, she would tell her daughter stories about her patients and the conversations she had with them. “Nursing is pretty stressful, but my mom had an amazing way of handling things,” she said. “My mom really loved to bui...
Noah Peeri Headshot
  • Our People
|Dec 5, 2022

SPH alum Dr. Noah Peeri achieves JAMA Oncology publication just months after graduation

Noah Peeri, Ph.D., MPH, a recent graduate of The University of North Texas Health Science Center’s School of Public Health, has achieved a major milestone by publishing an article in the Journal of the American Medical Association Oncology just months after completing his graduate degree.   H...
Techstars Demo Day.
  • On Campus
|Dec 1, 2022

Techstars Demo Day brings innovation to the historic stockyards

For the last 13 weeks, the founders of 10 of the world’s most innovative startups have been in Fort Worth perfecting their new physical health technology. They are part of the world’s first physical health accelerator, and now they are ready to show the fruits of their labor. Techstars Demo D...
Dr. Sid O'bryant Award
  • Our People
|Dec 1, 2022

HSC named the winner of the D Magazines 2022 Achievement in Medical Research Award

The extensive research done by Dr. Sid O’Bryant and his team at the Institute of Translational Research has earned the University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth the 2022 Medical Research Award by D Magazine. Dr. O’Bryant, the executive director of the ITR and a professor at t...